PDA

View Full Version : Just starting up a new group and campaign, first timer here.

Killersquid
2008-03-24, 12:29 AM
Its my first time starting up a game (I'm the DM) and I'm wondering what books I should get as a start. I know there are over a hundred books for the games, but which ones are truly needed to get off the ground for a beginner (I know the DM book is a must, as well as the monster manual and player handbook).

Also, should I start a campaign in one of the premade worlds from the source books (FR, Ebberon) or start up a custom world?

sonofzeal
2008-03-24, 12:36 AM
1) Past the Core Three, consensus is solidly on "Player's Handbook 2" as the most valuable. From there, opinion is divided between Tome of Battle to allow melee to compete with spellcasters at mid-high levels, or the first four Complete books (Complete Arcane/Divine/Warrior/Adventurer). Magic of Incarnum (which is less about spellcasters and more about utility characters) and Tome of Magic are good ones to think of too. After that it's wide open.

2) I've always gone with custom worlds, it's not too hard and loads of fun. Premade settings are more if you're running package adventures, but some people really enjoy them for custom stuff too.

Xefas
2008-03-24, 12:55 AM
Its my first time starting up a game (I'm the DM) and I'm wondering what books I should get as a start.

I slightly disagree with SonOfZeal (above me). If you can only get one book beyond the core three, I would suggest Tome of Battle all the way. It allows you to fill the Paladin, Monk, Fighter, Barbarian, and Rogue archetypes with classes that start out useful and continue to be useful throughout the whole game.

After that, Player's Handbook 2 would be my choice.

Also, should I start a campaign in one of the premade worlds from the source books (FR, Ebberon) or start up a custom world?