PDA

View Full Version : Some sort of Evil

gm_rand
2008-03-27, 02:03 PM
Okay first off I want to state that I don’t much care for the alignment system for D&D. I find it just doesn’t’ really fit but as I cannot offer a better solution that would still fit with much of the game mechanics I’ll do my best not to harp on it too much in this post. Alignment is a necessity for the game mechanics of many spells and abilities and thus a necessary evil.

Secondly I’d like to offer a little information on myself. I started playing D&D my freshman year of high school. Started running an occasional game after moving away from my core gaming group with other players I’d meet. After returning to the area of my old gaming group after about 5 years a few of us discovered a new gaming store that was quite friendly to D&D players. This was right when 3rd Ed was released. Over the next few years my role as a DM expanded. At one point myself and 2-3 other DMs consolidated our games at the store and ran games every other weekend for 30 players on average. Honestly I’m not the best DM out there and don’t have near the experience as many that I’ve met. I lack a bit in rule knowledge and am more concerned with making sure the players have a challenging and fun session.

With the experience I do have I often ask myself this question. “Why do so many people play evil characters so poorly?”