PDA

View Full Version : What's your favorite first level spell?

Tokiko Mima
2008-04-03, 06:44 PM
Apologies if someone else has already posted Wired magazine's look at 1st level D&D sorcerer/wizard spells.

Link: Alt Text Video: Surveying D&D's Entry-Level Spells (http://blog.wired.com/underwire/2008/04/alt-text-video.html)

Enjoy! :smallsmile:

drengnikrafe
2008-04-03, 07:06 PM
I'm really new to magic, so I'm not sure I have a "favorite", per se, but I have several that I really like...

Alarm
Unseen Servent (surprising number of combat uses for a non combat spell...)
Color Spray (For lower levels? Lifesaver)
Identify, if you have a DM that doesn't tell you what magic items do

I only have my 3.5 Players Manual on me right now, so I'm probably missing a bunch of good ones form the Spell Compedium...

its_all_ogre
2008-04-03, 07:14 PM
personal favourites ray of enfeeblement and grease, both on the party dwarf fighter for extra giggles!
hide from animals is also good fun!

senrath
2008-04-03, 07:18 PM
Grease is probably my favorite. Gotta love all the things you can do with it.

Talya
2008-04-03, 07:22 PM
Favorite by the time first level spells are mostly useless:

Nerveskitter. It never wears out its usefulness.

hylian chozo
2008-04-03, 07:40 PM
Grease is a good spell, very versatile. Color spray is also very good; but my favorite would have to be silent image, it's just a very open-ended spell that is useful until you get minor image.

Nohwl
2008-04-03, 07:48 PM
i really like identify. feather fall is another one i like too.

Callos_DeTerran
2008-04-03, 07:51 PM
Identify, if you have a DM that doesn't tell you what magic items do

>.> What the hell else would Identify be used for?....Why else would the DM tell you what magic items do?

senrath
2008-04-03, 07:51 PM
The only problem I have with Identify is its material components:

A pearl of at least 100 gp value, crushed and stirred into wine with an owl feather; the infusion must be drunk prior to spellcasting.