PDA

View Full Version : Cleric help! (Salvage my idea!)

Admiral Squish
2008-04-11, 11:18 PM
Okay, I'm joining an eberron game this is my first time playing any kind of a full caster. I've read all the forum chatter, how you NEVER lose a caster level and don't take LA races for anything made of a full caster. However, the fluff for my idea goes down both paths, and I'm wondering if there's anything I can do to salvage it, or if I should simply work the fluff around the rest of it.

The idea goes like this: my character is a dolgrim fighter he's been doing this for a while. On a surface raid, he stumbles into a temple dedicated to Dol Dorn. Curious, he pilfers a tome of religious texts and reads it over and over again. He converts to the church and abandons the tunnels of khyber, heading to the surface. He realized his appearance keeps him from doing anything productive, and develops image problems. Eventually, he gets some custom armor made, armor he never has to take off, heavy enough to disguise his features, and capable of concealing his extra arms by slipping both into the same sleeve. He masquerades as a hunchbacked gnome, and joins the church as a crusader. He hopes someday to shed his twisted and wretched form and achieve physical perfection.

ECL 6 means two levels of fighter, two levels of cleric, and +2 LA. Not a stellar combo. I suppose he'd take strength and war for his domains.
Playground, can you help me out?

Kyeudo
2008-04-11, 11:46 PM
LA Buyoff is your friend. Just play to your strengths and you can be a great frontliner, just remember you arn't going to be a great caster, since you'll never have 9th level spells.

Nerd-o-rama
2008-04-12, 01:20 AM
You can still tank and beatdown fairly well, as you'll get all the important melee buffs, just at a later level. Focus on melee damage and tanking abilities, and don't try any blasting spells. And buy off that LA as soon as you possibly can, because that's killer for anybody.