PDA

View Full Version : A bit of help for new DM?

Biotroll
2008-04-13, 02:08 PM
Well, the last group I was member of has fallen apart so I was forced to find a new one. I found few players but the bad thing is, that they have no experience with D&D. They played similar games before but they don't know any rules. I agree to make DM so I can teach them but I don't have too much of experience with DMing. Can you help me a bit?

The party is:
- gnome/bard
- gnome/druid
- dwarf/sorceror
- dwarf/monk
- human/fighter
- half-orc/barbarian
They all start at first level. Only the bard know a bit about rules because he was with me in the group that fell apart, but he was playing with us only for few sesions.

We are playing with 3.0 Core books only. (For now, until they get some rules in head.) I have plan of campaign but I want to know what should I be aware of and so on. I play D&D for three years now (not much I know) so I have some experience but I was player for most time. I read all gaming texts here at giant but still I'm feeling bit unsure. Rather take me as total noob for now ok?

Thanks for your help. :smallwink:

PS: Sorry for any misspells. I'm not so good at english as I would like to be.

Nohwl
2008-04-13, 02:15 PM
the party is full of short people. you might want to add in an npc cleric to heal them, or make them get healing items. i dont think the druid would want to do all of the healing.

Swordguy
2008-04-13, 02:21 PM
See if you can convince the 1/2-orc to take Master of Throwing (or whateer that prestige class is) and specialize in thrown body. He's got, like 4 perfectly good missiles in that party.

I can completely see him grabbing the gnome, winging him towards the foe and having the gnome wildshape into a bear in the middle of flight.

Miles Invictus
2008-04-13, 02:57 PM