PDA

View Full Version : Assassin PrC, The good and bad

rockdeworld
2008-04-28, 02:22 PM
Hey all, me again, this time with Assassins (the PrC, and yes, I have done the search button, but you try looking through 26 pages in this board alone :smallyuk:).

Now, I've been roleplaying for awhile, and I tend to favor characters who follow an assassin-like route (fight with two daggers, be sneaky, go for the 1-hit-kill). Then I started playing DnD, and of course my eyes were attracted to the assassin class. Now that I've played DnD for a bit, my general synopsis of the Assassin class is: it stinks. At least, compared to the more powerful ones anyway (i.e. Swordsage, wizard).

My run-down
Assassins are:
-rogues, stat-wise, except for 1 thing
-Poison users
-Death Attack users
-evil (wtf?! Non-good was too broad?)
-still an awesome concept (and get HiPS at level 7, a cool skill), and therefore worth looking into.

Assassins are not:
-high HP "in the fray-ers"
-high BAB fighters
-rogues, skill-points-wise

So essentially assassins are rogues with death attacks and poisons. Then naturally they want to use those the most right? It's not like they're skill-heavy anymore, after all. So let's see...

Death Attack:
-Doesn't work against undead, constructs, oozes, anything else immune to critical hits, or anyone that recognizes you as an enemy (so not during fights that you want to participate in)
-Requires 3 turns to use (on 1 person, by which time any normal enemies are dead or close to it, and bosses will make the save anyway), but you can fight while studying an enemy
-Requires a successful melee attack (with the Rogue's low attack, no bonus, not even a "touch" attack)
-Has a save (and a Fortitude save at that - meaning it won't work against most monsters, or any fighter-like BBEGs), but it is a scaling save, which is (pretty) good.

...That's a lot of restrictions for the benefit. Probably too many for use in regular combat (even if it could be with the first restriction).