PDA

View Full Version : Books to Buy.

Devin
2008-05-01, 06:23 PM
Hi! I came to these boards through Order of the Stick, so I don't actually know much about DnD(beyond what relevant information can be gleaned from board discussions), and I don't have any books. It seems like fun, and I've been wanting to get in on it for a while now. From reading threads here(and on the Gleemax boards), I think I have a good idea of some of the books I want. However, since I'm new to this, I don't actually know if buying these would be a good idea, so I'm going to list books that seem like a good idea, and you can guys can tell me if they're good ideas or not, and suggest other books based on my interests. Since this all hypothetical anyway, assume I have infinite amounts of money and time.

Player's Handbook(I assume it contains basic mechanics the game cannot be played without).

At least one Monster Manual; ideally, all five(monsters to use).

Tome of Magic(binder and, I think, warlock).(Binder stuff is all I really want from this book.)

Complete Psionics(obvious reasons).(Maybe not.)

Complete Scoundrel(spellwarp sniper, malconvoker, other sneaky goodness).

Lords of Madness(abberations).

Heroes of Horror(archivist, and general cool theme stuff).

Libris Mortis(cool undead).

Second Edit List:

PHB2
Core Rulebook Boxset(three in one)
Complete Arcane(warlock)
Complete Mage
Fiendish Codices 1 and 2
Planar Handbook and Manual
Races of the Dragon(kobolds)
Savage Species
Dungeonscape

I'm mostly interested in magic(usually not divine) classes, but I like the sneaks/skillmonkeys too. I'm not very interested in melee.

That's all I can think of for now, but I'll edit the post later to make a second list of suggestions. If anyone knows any generally good books or books that seem like they would match my interests, please inform me.

AngryRussian16
2008-05-01, 06:29 PM
If you have never played before, I would recommend just waiting thirty-seven days.