PDA

View Full Version : Guitar

Gaelbert
2008-05-01, 09:35 PM
I could have sworn I saw a thread like this a while back, but I was unable to find it after searching through 11 pages of results (guitar is a very common word, apparently.) Anywho, I suppose that means I need to make my own statement/introduction...

I know there are some guitar players among this forum. This is the place to brag about your blazing speed, your influences, beautiful compositions, catchy riffs, your equipment, your dreams, whatever. Particularly good songs or guitarists would fit as well. Advice and tips for new people learning to play would be nice too.

Personally, I started playing last June and I've always been enthusiastic about practicing and playing, but it hasn't been until these last few weeks where its turned into almost an obsession. I can't really get it out of my mind, I'm practicing more often for longer, and having more fun with it too. This thread was intended partially as a way to let off some of the steam that this obsession has built up in my head. I play a Yamaha G-55A, which was my dad's old guitar 30 or so years back. I'm learning in the Hal Leonard lessons, and I'm just into the third book of those. My favorite guitarist, at the moment, is most likely John Frusciante, from the Red Hot Chili Peppers. I bought Shadows Collide with People, one of his solo albums, and it was excellent.

The Extinguisher
2008-05-01, 09:56 PM
I play, not very well.
I'm not quite at the master guitar player, but I can get the basic melodies and rhythms down. I've started writing music as well.

I'm getting a guitar for my birthday, and it's going to be some sort of semi-hollowbody electric. <3

Jae
2008-05-01, 10:09 PM
EXPECTED

I personally planned on learning guitar before track ate my life. because yeah I used to work hard in running lawl i was a silllywilly. spending all my summer doing double practices and whatnot. newaiz.