PDA

View Full Version : Living Spells

sonofzeal
2008-05-12, 10:34 PM
So, I've decided to use Living Spells in the next bit of my campaign. However, I've never used them before or seen them used, and they're pretty strange as far as the mechanics go. Has anyone seen them in play, on either side of the screen? Are they overpowered or underpowered for the CR (assuming appropriate spell choice)? Any recommendations for good/fun spells to use? The party is lvl4 right now, and only marginally optimized.

FlyMolo
2008-05-12, 10:38 PM
I really like the idea, but the numbers seem fairly arbitrarily pulled out of midair. Then again, you are generating critter stats whole cloth from a spell. :smallbiggrin:

Burning hands and other little spells might be a good place to start.

sonofzeal
2008-05-12, 11:00 PM
I really like the idea, but the numbers seem fairly arbitrarily pulled out of midair. Then again, you are generating critter stats whole cloth from a spell. :smallbiggrin:

Burning hands and other little spells might be a good place to start.
I was concidering Pyrotechnics and Flaming Sphere already. Magic Missile would be a fun one, as would Colour Spray. The thing is, they look way too easy to kill, and most of the ones at this level would lack any decent mobility options and be dead-easy to snipe from range. So how do you make them viable threats?

monty
2008-05-12, 11:08 PM
Living Mordenkainen's Disjunction!

That'll shut them down.

CockroachTeaParty
2008-05-12, 11:14 PM
I've used living spells before. They're little different from any other ooze with magical abilities, such as a teratomorph or reason stealer.

I've always wanted to create a living prestidigitation, and have it clean up my wizard's house. You have to be careful, though, because I'm pretty sure the spells that can be made living are rather limited. They cannot be ray spells, I think... I'll have to look it up. So I don't think you can have a living disintegrate, thank heavens.

monty