PDA

View Full Version : Monster clarification (4th Ed)

Skaven
2008-06-13, 06:16 PM
Hey folks.

I'm new to 4th ed, but after looking around the MM I'm having a problem when I'm reading the entries on two monsters.

These monsters are the Purple Worm and the Spirit Devourer.

First, the purple worm. this creature has 780hp at level 16 and an ability that looks like a near autohit swallow whole, with no limitations on the amount swallowed. Creatures swallowed take impressive acid damage, and can use no powers or abilities except normal 1 handed melee attacks.

This wouldnt be a problem if there was a clause that if you dealt lets say, 40 damage you could get out, like in previous editions, but if the monster swallows a creature early in the combat, they're dead.. simply put. 4th ed has reigned in hit points of players and damage output also, at 10 damage/round dealing 1 handed attacks, you're dead before it is, even with the rest of your party beating on it from outside: getting picked off one by one by its +21 to hit reflex and also getting swallowed with no way out, only to be reduced to tiny damage attacks from within. No more getting swallowed and sneak attacking: you can only use basic 1 handed attacks.

I have looked again and again and i'm just having problems with this creature, it has no swallow limitations on number of creatures, and being a veritable ton of hit points it just seems to clearly be a creature that looks way out of line for its CR, any close CR, does anyone see what i'm missing?

Second: the spirit devourer.