View Full Version : Enchantments and DR

2008-06-27, 06:30 AM
Since I can't find the ruling on this again...

If a weapon has an enchantment, does the bonus damage (be it from being +1 or flaming) bypass DR? Only in some circumstances? Bane weapons deal extra plain damage, but a frost sword deals extra cold damage so would one bypass and the other won't?

Thanks in Advance.

2008-06-27, 06:42 AM
Enhancement damage - say a +1 sword - will be resisted by DR (except for DR/magic). Add it to the base damage of the weapon and subtract the DR as normal. This applies to any bonus damage that's of the same sort as the weapon: bane, sneak attack, whatever.

Energy damage, from e.g. a frost or flaming weapon, always bypasses DR.

Basically, DR resists weapon damage: slashing, piercing, bludgeoning. If the damage isn't of those types, it's not resisted.

2008-06-27, 07:21 AM
Thanks, that's what I thought but I couldn't get it confirmed. Thank you.