PDA

View Full Version : A Complete Noob's Little OSRIC Question

DoomCup
2008-07-01, 10:49 PM
I've looked all up and down, but I can't seem to find how many spells Magic Users, Clerics, and the like can cast per day. Or can they cast however many spells as long as they memorize them first? How many can they have memorized at a time? etc. etc.

Kizara
2008-07-02, 02:59 AM
Ok, let me try to explain this to you.

1) Look at the cleric table in its class section.

2) Look at the table on page 8, and find your attribute for your casting stat (Wisdom for clerics).

Let's use a level 5 cleric with an 18 WIS as an example:

According to the table, you have spells-per-day:

5 0-level
3(+1) 1st-level
2(+1) 2nd-level
1(+1) 3rd-level

Now, the (+1) represents your domain spell. This is explained in the cleric's magic section. You can prepare one (and only 1) domain spell per spell level.

Now we look at the chart on page 8, we see that with an 18 WIS you get 1 bonus spell on many levels, but it only applies right now to your 1st, 2nd, and 3rd-level spells.

Thus, after you factor in your bonus from ability score, your spells per-day look like this:

5 0-level
4(+1) 1st-level
3(+1) 2nd-level
2(+1) 3rd-level

If you were to get an on-going boost to your Wisdom to raise it to 20, your spells-per-day would increase to:

5 0-level
5(+1) 1st-level
3(+1) 2nd-level
2(+1) 3rd-level

Any more questions?

Project_Mayhem
2008-07-02, 05:39 AM
Of course he's talking about OSRIC, not 3.5 - Cleric spells per day are on page 12 - remember to add the extra spells you get through high wisdom, table on same page.

So Level 5 with 18 wisdom gets 5/5/2 (as the bonus spells are only added when you could cast that level anyway)

For magic users, it's simply the table on page 18, with no modifiers

So level 5 gets 4/2/1

Matthew
2008-07-02, 05:39 AM
Judging from the title, I think this is an OSRIC question, Kizara, not a D20 question...

Welcome aboard DoomCup!