PDA

View Full Version : Problem balancing a 4e game

Charity
2008-08-21, 07:12 AM
This poster has posted in the simple Q&A thread, this post

Q158

I´ve just did my first session in version 4.0 as DM. I did a couple of combats also out of character, just for practising. Now is the problem that my party of 3 people (the other 3 were absent) can beat an encounter of 600XP (that is enough for a party of 6 people on level 1)

Or I do somthing wrong with is most thinkable since a huge amount of players playtested V4.0 or the book is wrong.

What i did: i threw a goblin encounter on them which included:
1 goblin hexer 150
1 goblin underboss 350
1 goblin warrior 100
2 goblin cutter 50

also some other encounters with a hexer, 2 warriors, skullcleaver and cutters, But they beated them with less problem..it was a little chalange: say, the tank was reduced to 2 HP and the other was bloodied and the caster still on full HP. But still it is an encounter 2 times to much XP for a 3-man-party.

What can I do to make the combat more difficult? ihad the thought of throwing more controlers and maybe some caster-hate in battle. But i would realy much like to hear your opinion!!

Thanx alot,
Cil

Edit: The combat was further normal, i am sure I used all powers correctly and used everything those goblins could give.

I believe this disscussion will require more than a simple answer so i have opened this thread for the debate.
Please do not post anything other than advise to improve his 4e game... thanks.

Tsotha-lanti
2008-08-21, 07:21 AM
Start by re-reading pages 56 and 57, and then expand to the chapter.

6 for 3 PCs is a level 5 encounter. That's beatable but dangerous, on the very upper limits of PC capability.