View Full Version : Quarterstaff flurry - please check

2008-09-03, 10:32 PM
Hi all,

I was wondering if you could check my math on the following:

A Monk 2/Ranger 2/Fighter 4, STR 16, Weapon Focus (Quarterstaff), Weapon Specialization (Quarterstaff), +1/+1 Quarterstaff

Full Attack (using FoB and TWF): +8/+8/+3 (1d6+6) and +8 (1d6+4)

Cheers - T

2008-09-03, 10:36 PM
Looks solid to me.

Or you can deal a single attack for +12 (1d6+7) if you have to move before attacking.

2008-09-04, 01:34 AM
Just a quick question - if you use a double weapon for a single attack, does it count as a two-handed weapon for STR bonus and Power Attack?

2008-09-04, 01:51 AM
With a quarterstaff you can definitely use it two handed. RAW however is one handed.

2008-09-04, 02:01 AM
The character can also choose to use a double weapon two handed, attacking with only one end of it. A creature wielding a double weapon in one hand can’t use it as a double weapon—only one end of the weapon can be used in any given round.

If you do not flurry or make your extra TWF attack, then yes, you can treat the weapon as a two-hander. (You could flurry with it gripped as a two-hander, but Flurry specifies that it always uses your base Strength bonus, so it wouldn't make any difference.)

2008-09-04, 09:51 AM
FYI, from the SRD:

"When using weapons as part of a flurry of blows, a monk applies her Strength bonus (not Str bonus × 1-1/2 or ×1/2) to her damage rolls for all successful attacks, whether she wields a weapon in one or both hands."