PDA

View Full Version : Webspace

Castaras
2008-09-07, 05:29 AM
Having got annoyed at Freewebs, I'm currently looking for a new webhosting place.

Can't really go for anything other than free, because I'm still only a kid, and my personal site isn't going to be viewed enough to make it worth paying for a space. :smallsmile:

Things I'm after:
- Free
- Raw HTML editor
- Not freewebs :smalltongue:

Things I'd like:
- No ads / Ability to customize where ads are placed on your webpages
- Reasonable bandwidth and webspace size.

So...any suggestions?

Haruki-kun
2008-09-07, 11:58 AM
Well, I have no idea, but... this might be useful. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Internet_hosting)

I'm no internet expert, but... in my experience, Free + No ads = Non existant.

Castaras
2008-09-07, 02:42 PM
Yeah, that's why I'm hoping for a place that has ads, but you decide where they go. Or something like that.

celestialkin
2008-09-12, 08:47 PM
I would love to know this as well.

I use freeweb, but it's so limiting.

I personally do not mind adds. I just care about it being simple to use. I have no HTML experience, so an integrated WYSIWYG (I believe that is the term) into the site like freeweb is what I desperately need. It could have all the adds it want, as long as all I need to do is drag, upload images, and type.

Recaiden
2008-09-12, 09:14 PM
I have no experience, but i suggest the link Haruki-kun provided. Why exactly did you leave freewebs? That might help.

Reinboom
2008-09-13, 01:43 AM
I can give you webspace.

Here's the limitations:
If your site ends up getting a thousand hits a day, I'm going to ask to put an ad somewhere on there. Wherever you want though.
Try to keep it under 2 gb of space, unless you really want to upload gigantic. Then ask.

Uh, that's about it.
PHP 4.4.9
MySQL 4 IIRC (might be 5, haven't checked in a bit)