PDA

View Full Version : Iron Kingdoms - Anyone?

Phantom.exe
2008-09-09, 12:15 AM
Hey. I just started playing Warmachine, this great little tabletop game from Privateer Press. It's a load of fun, and I was just so intrigued with the so-called "full-metal fantasy" setting.

I looked it up, and it has, as you may know, a companion game, called Hordes.
Both take place in a great setting,g the eponymous "Iron Kingdoms."

It's a really unique, interesting setting. A darker, much less magical Eberron. In Eberron, technology advanced though magic. In the real world, technology advanced without fictional magic.

In the Iron Kingdoms, the realms of men advanced to late Renaissance-era technology alongside low-power magic.

It's really, very interesting. I guess Privateer Press started out by making this "Witchfire Trilogy" campaign, as well as the other campaign-related books. It's really awesome.

Anyway, has anyone else heard or read about it? I can't find the books at a decent price anywhere, even though I heard some amazing things about it.

Furthermore, how many people would be interested in a campaign in this setting?

Attilargh
2008-09-09, 01:18 AM
All you need to know about Iron Kingdoms (http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/IronKingdoms).

It truly is an awesome setting. The book you need is the Iron Kingdoms Character Guide, which is, I've understood, out of print and thus filthy expensive. Another sweet, really useful book is the Iron Kingdoms Campaign Guide, which is in the same bind as the CG.

However. While the Warmachine rules are sweet, fast and uncomplicated, I don't think any of the desginers worked on the Iron Kingdoms. Many of the rules are either pointlessly fiddly, dubiously balanced, or both. As many people on this board have probably already noticed, my favourites are the gun rules. I'll be brief:
They cost a ton.
They take a long while to reload.
They are fiddly to reload.
They get outperformed by bows.
They are Exotic.