PDA

View Full Version : [4e] New DM + New Players

Random NPC
2008-09-09, 02:28 PM
Hello.

I'm here to ask some questions. I'm trying to figure out how to DM proficiently, since this is my first time I enter the DM realm.

So far, I wanted to give the new players as most liberty as possible. They are really mature and I know I won't end up with petty problems. They are my two 16 year old nephews and my girlfriend (we be college studentz). As I said, they are new and on friday me and my girlfriend will go buy them three their first set of dice (since I only have my own).

They chose on their own to play a War Wizard, a Two-Weapon Ranger and a Battle Cleric. I helped them with the character creation and we are yet to meet for the first time together. It seems balanced, but I'm afraid it might lack some defense, so I wanted to throw in a couple of NPCs, a Rogue and a Wolf. The point of these NPCs is to introduce them to the many features of D&D and help them more. I also plan to kill off the Rogue (which will be my plot hook) by the end of the first IG day and give the Wolf to the party to use as a Tank, which it might be a plot device for later levels.

Now my full inquire is regarding the wolf. How do I create him? I wanted to mirror the animal companion in 3.5, since I really liked them. I was thinking of creating a level 1 gray wolf and adding the fighter template. In reality this is a way for me to have a character I can call my own on the adventure since I still can't fully separate myself from my PC gamer mentality :smallbiggrin:

I have some plans for the wolf, turning him into a "living artifact" for the whole party that will depart from the party once all of the sketchy plans I have in mind come to fruition.

Any help and any kind of constructive criticism is most welcomed

Myshlaevsky
2008-09-09, 02:31 PM
Hello.

I'm here to ask some questions. I'm trying to figure out how to DM proficiently, since this is my first time I enter the DM realm.