PDA

View Full Version : Charisma of 1

Singhilarity
2008-09-14, 05:06 PM
So, I'm DMing a game (it's progressing slowly, but this is besides the point) and it's my first time through.

Two players.

One of them has a Charisma of 1.
The rest of his stats are quite beautiful, and he's playing a Druid.

I've been wondering about the full extent of said penalty.

First and foremost, I ruled that as a child, he had a physical trauma that caused extreme facial disfigurement.
We ended up with it being that he was bit by a Cockatrice, and, while anti-venom was administered, his lower jaw and neck are horribly scarred, twisted, and dry/scaly.

The Druidic meditations and practices have helped relieve him somewhat of the pains of eating and speaking, but still, he gets EXP bonuses when he plays up the extent of the difficulty.

Now here's the thing I'm wondering.

SRD says "A Creature with a Charisma score of at least 1 is able to tell the difference between itself and other creatures"

This isn't just about poor social skills and unattractive features.
He's been *SCARRED*

I'm thinking that being caught 1 on 1 with a stranger, or a large creature is overwhelming to the degree that can induce panic attacks, or direct passing out.
He is easily intimidated, easily cajoled, coerced, and bullied.
Wetting himself would not be out of the question.

As a Halfling, (in this campaign, Halflings are extremely familial. Think Italian.) he has the benefit of a family base, for support, and as a Druid, he has the lodge (which serves as a Monastary, a School, and the prime producer of Produce and Medicine for the upper half of the city), and his animal companion.

He asked if he could roll for his animal companion. He rolled a 20.
I gave him a Blink dog.

Yes, this is a stupid move. He has an intelligent (capable of detailed verbal communication), strong, ally. That can see and walk through walls. And Dimensional Door. At Will.