PDA

View Full Version : Lich vrs Excel...Excel winning...

Aotrs Commander
2008-11-22, 07:24 PM
I must request the aid of the Excel knowledgable denizens of the playground. My usual technical assistance are unavailable for the weekend, and I really want to press on while the iron is hot...

I am currently wrestling with Excel (2007 if it makes any difference), not a program I've got a lot of experience with. I'm actually converting the points values of my...many...starfleets after a major rules revision - having decided I really, ree-heeally didn't want to do it by hand, I've been trying to use Excel. After a bit of a rocky start, I've about got somewhere with my various formulas so changing things around is a minimum of cell-filling in.

And I thought to myself, "I wonder if'n I can be really clever and stick the weapons data in while I'm faffing around?"

I.e. what I would like to do is take an entry of "Beam 1" and have it lookup the mass or hit points and points cost and stick it in the revelvant cells.

I think the best way to describe this is to be illustrative.

So basically (with square brackets representing cells), my weapon data table looks something like this:

[A ] [ B] [ C] [ D]
[ 1] mass hp PV
[ 2] [ 1] [ 1] [ 3]
[ 3][Beam 2 ] [ 2] [ 1] [ 12]
[ 4][Beam 3 ] [ 3] [ 1] [ 27]
[ 5][Beam 4 ] [ 4] [ 1] [ 48]
[ 6][Beam 5 ] [ 5] [ 1] [ 75]
[ 7][Beam 6 ] [ 6] [ 1] [108]
[ 8][Beam 7 ] [ 7] [ 1] [147]
[ 9][Beam 8 ] [ 8] [ 1] [192]
[10][Beam 9 ] [ 9] [ 1] [243]
[11][Beam 10 ] [10] [ 1] [300]

My design sheet looks something like this.

[D ] [ E] [ F] [ G] [ H] [ I] [ J] [ K]
[27] number mass hp PV net net net
of guns per per per mass hp PV
gun gun gun
[28][B][Beam 4 ] [ 2] [ 4] [ 1] [ 48] [ 8] [ 2] [96]