PDA

View Full Version : 4e DR?

Glooble Glistencrist
2008-12-08, 12:07 PM
I'm new to 4e homebrewing. I was working on my glooples, and I noticed nothing in the 4e monster manual has Damage Reduction? Has that mechanic been eliminated, or just absorbed into resistances?

Mercenary Pen
2008-12-08, 12:16 PM
Just absorbed into resistances I would say...

Rather than stating that a monster has (for example) DR10/Psychic, they prefer these days to give it Vulnerable 10 Psychic, for a similar result, without shutting half the party down.

Pirate_King
2008-12-08, 12:37 PM
If you're thinking what I'm thinking you're thinking, you're going to have to basically bit your lip on grinders and just give them a high resistance(say, 15) to all types of damage except for acid, and recognize that the little guy was probably a pretty low level with a mundane weapon.

DracoDei
2008-12-08, 12:40 PM
Or go ahead and reintroduce DR into the equation... being limited by what already exists is NOT the mark of a anything but the most mediocre of homebrewers...

Mando Knight
2008-12-08, 12:50 PM
But there is already a mechanic for reducing damage in 4E. Adding in 3.X's DR system would only increase the confusion.

For DR 5/-, use Resist All 5. For DR 5/cold, use Resist All 5, Vulnerable Cold 5 (in effect, remove 5 damage, then add 5 damage back on, for a minimum of 5 damage...), or just Vulnerable Cold 5 (cold deals extra damage, everything else is normal...). Red Dragons, for example, have lost their Vulnerability to cold, their DR, and their immunity to fire in exchange for a large resistance to fire... enough so that only a Ranger/Rogue with a flaming weapon and combat advantage could normally break it without the Epic feat Irresistible Flame.

DracoDei
2008-12-08, 12:55 PM
Sorry, if "Resist All" exists in 4E, then that works just fine.

My only excuse is that I loathe:smallyuk: 4E both legally and mechanically, and so am very unfamiliar with it.:smallamused:

RPGuru1331