View Single Post

Thread: Princess Celestia's Homebrew Corner

  1. - Top - End - #104
    Ogre in the Playground
    Celestia's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Canterlot, Equestria

    Default Sacred Magus

    The Sacred Magus

    Alignment: Any
    Hit Die: d6

    Level BAB Saves Special
    1 +0 +0/+0/+2 Dual Spell Source, Scribe Scroll
    2 +1 +0/+0/+3 Familiar
    3 +1 +1/+1/+3 Spontaneous Casting 1st
    4 +2 +1/+1/+4
    5 +2 +1/+1/+4 Bonus Feat
    6 +3 +2/+2/+5 Spontaneous Casting 2nd
    7 +3 +2/+2/+5 Turn/Rebuke Undead
    8 +4 +2/+2/+6
    9 +4 +3/+3/+6 Spontaneous Casting 3rd
    10 +5 +3/+3/+7
    11 +5 +3/+3/+7 Bonus Feat
    12 +6 +4/+4/+8 Spontaneous Casting 4th
    13 +6 +4/+4/+8 Loremaster
    14 +7 +4/+4/+9
    15 +7 +5/+5/+9 Spontaneous Casting 5th
    16 +8 +5/+5/+10
    17 +8 +5/+5/+10 Bonus Feat
    18 +9 +6/+6/+11 Spontaneous Casting 6th
    19 +9 +6/+6/+11
    20 +10 +6/+6/+12 Spontaneous Casting 7th
    Class Skills (2 + Int)
    Concentration, Craft, Decipher Script, Heal, Knowledge (All), Profession, Speak Language, Spellcraft

    Weapon and Armor Proficiency: All simple weapons and light armor. Sacred Maguses do not suffer arcane spell failure from light armor. However, they still cannot wear medium or heavy armor or shields.

    Spellcasting: A Sacred Magus is a prepared caster drawing his spells off any spell list. If a spell is at two (or more) different levels on different lists, use the version appearing first in this list of preferential order: Wizard, Cleric, Sorcerer, Druid, Bard, Paladin, Ranger, others. His primary casting ability is Intelligence. He prepares his spells from a spellbook. His spells known start with twelve 0th levels spells and three 1st levels spells plus one 1st level spell per point of intelligence modifier. At every level, he gains three spells of any level he can cast. He can also learn spells from scrolls like a Wizard. Unlike a Cleric, a Sacred Magus is not limited in aligned spells and can cast any spell regardless of alignment.

    Level Spells per Day
    1 4/1/-/-/-/-/-/-/-
    2 4/2/-/-/-/-/-/-/-
    3 4/2/1/-/-/-/-/-/-
    4 4/3/2/-/-/-/-/-/-
    5 5/3/2/-/-/-/-/-/-
    6 5/4/3/1/-/-/-/-/-
    7 5/4/3/2/-/-/-/-/-
    8 5/4/4/2/-/-/-/-/-
    9 6/4/4/3/1/-/-/-/-
    10 6/4/4/3/2/-/-/-/-
    11 6/4/4/4/2/-/-/-/-
    12 6/4/4/4/3/1/-/-/-
    13 7/4/4/4/3/2/-/-/-
    14 7/4/4/4/4/2/-/-/-
    15 7/4/4/4/4/3/1/-/-
    16 7/4/4/4/4/3/2/-/-
    17 8/4/4/4/4/4/2/-/-
    18 8/4/4/4/4/4/3/1/-
    19 8/4/4/4/4/4/3/2/-
    20 8/4/4/4/4/4/4/3/1

    Dual Spell Source: A Sacred Magus is connected to both the arcane and divine. When casting a spell, he can decide if it is being cast as either arcane or divine. Spells cast as arcane require an arcane focus (if one is needed), and spells cast as divine require a divine focus (usually a holy symbol). All spells must meet arcane material component requirements if they exist. A Sacred Magus's spellcasting can grant him entry into prestige classes that require either arcane or divine magic. However, it can only count as one type of spellcasting at a time, so classes that require two types of spellcasting, such as Mystic Theurge, cannot be entered with this class alone. Regardless of whether or not he casts spells as arcane or divine, he suffers arcane spell failure if applicable.

    Scribe Scroll: A Sacred Magus gains Scribe Scroll as a bonus feat at first level.

    Familiar: At second level, a Sacred Magus gains a familiar as a wizard of his level.

    Spontaneous Casting: Upon reaching level three, a Sacred Magus can use his connection to the divine side of magic to begin casting spontaneously. He chooses any one 1st level spell that he knows. From this point onwards, that spell can be spontaneously cast in either an empty spell slot or by converting a filled, but not used, spell slot. Once chosen, the spontaneous spell cannot be changed. At every level that he gains access to a new spell level (sixth, ninth, twelfth, fifteenth, eighteenth, and twentieth), he can choose a new spontaneous spell from the previous spell level. Spontaneous spells are always cast as divine.

    Bonus Feats: At level five and every sixth level after, a Sacred Magus gains a bonus metamagic or item creation feat.

    Turn/Rebuke Undead: At seventh level, a Sacred Magus gains either Turn Undead or Rebuke Undead as a Cleric of his level. He can pick either regardless of alignment, but once chosen, this selection can never be changed.

    Loremaster (Ex): By level thirteen, a Sacred Magus has read so many ancient tomes and religious texts looking for scraps od magical lore that he has become a true expert in the fields of history, legends, mythology, and religion. This ability functions like the Bardic Knowledge ability at a level equal to the Sacred Magus's level. He also gains a bonus on Knowledge (Arcana), Knowledge (History), and Knowledge (Religion) checks equal to one third his Sacred Magus level.
    Last edited by Celestia; 2017-01-08 at 08:09 PM.
    Princess Celestia's Homebrew Corner
    Old classes, new classes, and more!

    Thanks to AsteriskAmp for the avatar!