1. - Top - End - #114
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2014

    Default Re: Simple RAW for Pathfinder Thread VI: Return of the Red Die

    The rules for the Magus' Spell Combat ability say "as a full-round action, he can make all of his attacks with his melee weapon at a 2 penalty and can also cast any spell from the magus spell list with a casting time of 1 standard action (any attack roll made as part of this spell also takes this penalty)."

    From a strictly RAW perspective it seems that the only criteria a spell needs to meet to be cast with Spell Combat are that it a) appears on the magus spell list, and b) have a casting time of 1 standard action. Whether or not the spell is one of the Magus' prepared spells, or one of their spells known does is not taken into consideration, effectively allowing pseudo spontaneous casting off of the full Magus spell list. Is my interpretation correct, and if not why?
    Last edited by frogglesmash; 2019-02-05 at 03:50 AM.