Quote Originally Posted by LudicSavant View Post
Unfortunately doubling Spirit Guardians doesn't work. Remember: the "Range" line of a spell only defines the initial target, not all of the targets of the spell effect. Spirit Guardians initially targets you, but also targets an area. When in doubt, remember that per the general spell rules in the PHB, creatures that make a save against the spell DC are also targets of the spell. This is why (for instance) Fireball or Symbol refers to creatures caught in the area as "targets," even though Fireball initially targets a point and Symbol initially targets an object.

Some relevant references:
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2017/06/04...mbo-with-steed
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2017/05/22...arget-only-you
https://www.reddit.com/r/dndnext/com...geting_spells/

That said, Spirit Guardians is still great and well worth flying around with.
Eh. Double SG doesn't work for more RAW reasons in that the same creature cannot be buffed/debuffed by identical spells.

It's purely for style as all of your spirits also have mounts now!