Quote Originally Posted by Ninjaman View Post
Quote Originally Posted by Durkoala View Post
Overwhelming Power 2RR
Art: a wizard blasting wild streams of lightning out of his hands and eyes. He might either be laughing or screaming.
Enchantment R

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery, copy it. You may choose new targets for the copy. If the spell can target a player, create a copy that targets yourself. If not, or if there would be no effect to you, ~ deals damage to you equal to the spell's converted Mana cost.

There are two schools of thought about the aquisition of arcane power: one that it is possible to gain too much power and one that says it isn't.
"or if there would be no effect to you" doesn't make sense rules wise.
This is supposed to be played exclusively with spells that target only yourself, that do something positive? So draw spells, but only the draw spells that actually targets, which is like a fourth of them or something?
This seems unbelievably narrow, with a massive downside strapped on, to the point of probably being unplayable.
The primary intent was to increase the power of red damage spells at a cost: If you cast lightning bolt, you get hit by a lightning bolt but also get another three damage you can throw anywhere on the board. There's definitely other uses, such as creating twice as many tokens or copying buff spells, that don't do anything if they are targetting you, so I added the 'deals damage to you equal to the spell's converted Mana cost' so there would still be a downside to playing this card no matter how you built your deck.

'or if there would be no effect to you' was an attempt to prevent abuse with white removal such as Dispense Justice as otherwise you can force your opponents to sacrifice twice the usual amount of creatures with no cost to yourself. It is poorly worded now I look at it, though.