View Single Post

Thread: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

  1. - Top - End - #1280
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    WolfInSheepsClothing

    Join Date
    Mar 2017

    Default Re: Simple RAW for 5e 4: Smackdown v. RAW

    Quote Originally Posted by DracoDei View Post
    Q443
    Can one attack an adjacent target with a Reach weapon (especially one OTHER than a whip, and WITHOUT P.A.M.)?
    If it matters, I mean a medium or small character.
    A443 For "general" attacks: yes because:
    • You choose a target that is within your reach/range (PHB 194, first sentence and again PHB 195, Melee Attacks).
    • Weapons with the Reach propriety add +5ft reach to whatever reach a creature already has for attacks made with that weapon.
    • Medium and small characters, generally speaking, all have a baseline reach of 5ft.
    • Anything "adjacent" is within a 5ft reach, thus being also within any >5ft reach.
    Last edited by ThePolarBear; 2019-12-02 at 04:54 AM.