2020-01-23, 01:42 AM (ISO 8601)
Piercing arrow and aoe damage RAW?
As the title says, what is the raw ruling on sneak attack damage on secondary targets regarding piercing arrow?
I know Jeremy made a tweet saying they don't get damage, because there is no attack roll made to creatures in line of sight, but, why does this matter?
As I read piercing arrow, all creatures in line of sight get damage 'as if' hit by the attack. If the attack does 50 damage, everyone in line of sight gets 50 damage (assuming they fail their saving throw).
They just get damage 'as if' hit, so in my reading the rules of sneak attack don't apply. They are two seperate abilities thay have no interaction, except for the damage done.
What is your reading regarding this issue?