2010-09-09, 07:33 PM (ISO 8601)
Blessed Aura of ___
Here it is:
Blessed Aura of <insert name of deity/idea/pantheon>
Level: Clr 5
Casting Time: 1 Standard Action
Range: Close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Area: 40-ft.-radius emanation
Duration: 1 minute/level
Saving Throw: none
Spell Resistance: yes (harmless, see text)
You call about the power of your deity to bless an area. Creatures in the area get a bonus (or penalty) as detailed below. If you can turn undead, the bonus is sacred. If you rebuke/command undead, the bonus is profane. Each bonus apply to all skill checks, ability checks, attack rolls, and saving throws made by a creature standing in the area of effect.
All creatures in the area who are the same alignment as your deity/higher power/faith gain a +1 bonus.
Any creature in the area that is a servant of your deity gains a +4 bonus.
If your deity belongs to a pantheon*, any creature in the area that is a servant of another deity in the same pantheon, or a servant of the pantheon as a whole*, gains a +2 bonus.
Any creature in the area of a different alignment than your deity gains a modifier equal to 1-<distance between their alignment and your deity's> . For example, if your deity is chaotic good, then neutral good creatures gain no bonus or penalty, chaotic evil creatures gain a -1 penalty, lawful neutral creatures get a -3 penalty, and lawful evil creatures get a -4 penalty.
Notice that this modifier is consistent with the +1 to same-aligned creatures (because 1-<0 steps away> is +1.)
If your deity belongs to a pantheon*, an alternate use is available (you decide which version of the spell to use upon casting). This version empowers the area with power from the entire pantheon. The value of the sacred/profane modifiers are slightly different. Note that in this case, when the pantheon's alignment is referenced, it refers to the entire pantheon's alignment*.
A creature with the same alignment of your pantheon gains a +1 bonus.
A creature with a different alignment than your pantheon gains a penalty as described above.
A creature that is a servant of a single deity in the pantheon gains a +2 bonus.
A creature that is a servant of the entire pantheon* gains a +3 bonus.
Special: A cleric that is a servant of an entire pantheon* can also cast the first version of this spell, and may choose to empower the area with the power of ANY deity in their pantheon.
*ANY mention of a pantheon in this spell description refers to a group of deities that share similar goals and work closely together. An example is the Sovereign Host, from the Eberron campaign setting. Rules for a divine character that serves an entire pantheon are assumed to be the rules described in the ECS, page 35. If your campaign does not contain similar pantheons , the DM and players should ignore any reference to pantheons (including the entire second use).
Material Component: Two fists full of diamond dust worth a total of at least 1800 gp.
Comments: I welcome any other advice for how to improve it.
Last edited by 137ben; 2011-06-09 at 04:50 PM.