New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more

Thread: A Dark Problem

1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

Planetar

eek A Dark Problem

So, here's my problem: I've got a really great gaming group that has been playing for about three years, and recently both of the games that were being DMed came to their climactic endings, so naturally we were all in search of something new. We settled on Monte Cook's World of Darkness mainly because it seemed cool and we could stick to the D20 system.
    I'm now GM-ing a game with a mixed group of Vampires, Demons, and Werewolves and I've run into a problem...my players don't want to be the good guys! I've never had any experience running an evil game, so I was hoping the combined wisdom of RPGnet forums could provide me with some sage advice! Additionally, I'm new to the whole World of Darkness idea, so any advice you can give me on running a horror style game where the characters essentially start out at 4rth level would be immensely helpful too!

Some more specifics, just in case this will help:
    Our party consists of: 1) Ventrue Vampire (played by the guy who usually keeps the story rolling. He really wants to play an Angelus-eske character from BtVS, with an emphasis on corrupting, driving people insane, and never working for anybody but himself. O_O How does one GM that?!)

2) Deva Vampire (she isn't too much trouble...she just wants to play an evil seductress. Which for some reason doesn't seem to be too hard.)

3) Mekit Vampire (who thought we were playing a game where we would be good guys...so he's at a loss for what to do, just like me)

4) Demon (Who wants to rule the world through money.)

5) Werewolf (He's the lurker of our group...he just hangs around without roleplaying too much, which is sad.)