New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground

Default Introducing new people to Role Playing

I'm looking for advice, and I think you all can help. You see, When I first started role playing I got together a group of 4-5 players with me as their newbie GM, we all sort of learned how this worked together. However over the years this player group has dwindled and I'm now at 2-3 players, so it becomes difficult to play some of our favorite games and since if even one person drops out the game sort of dies, its difficult to schedule. The good news is that I'm about to go to a new environment, one that I believe to be filled with lots of gamer type people, I want to recruit new people, preferably 2-3. However I've never done that before.

In the past I was just friends with the people I got to role play with me, and it was okay if someone messed up the rules and stuff, because thats what everybody did, but now I have an established group of players, and a much better grasp of the rules, but I don't want to be harsh and be the Stop Having Fun Guy. Also, since I've only role played with the same group of people for a while now, and really don't have experience with others I'm kind of worried that there will be things in the group dynamic that I won't really catch when they start.

I've decided that I'd like to play with 4th Edition D&D, because me and my players personally enjoy it, and it seems simple enough to learn. I prefer if you didn't try to convince me that I should use some other system, but really just prefer some general advice on new players.

Thanks in Advance!

2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Default Re: Introducing new people to Role Playing

Okay.

Maybe I missed it.

For what kind of advice are you looking?
    1. Have fun. It's only a game.
    2. The GM has the final say. Everyone else is just a guest.