New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground

Default Lights off with candles

Anybody ever play like this? Was thinking it could be cool for a creepy feeling game, but visibility in the books could be an issue.
    Gary Gygax: "As an author, I also realize that there are limits to my creativity and imagination. Others will think of things I didn't, and devise things beyond my capabilities".

Also Gary Gygax: "The AD&D game system does not allow the injection of extraneous material. That is clearly stated in the rule books. It is thus a simple matter: Either one plays the AD&D game, or one plays something else."

2. - Top - End - #2
    Ettin in the Playground

Default Re: Lights off with candles

The problem with candles is that the game table is already pretty cluttered and this is just another thing taking up space. Also, you'd need more than one candle, at the very least.
    Last edited by FoE; 2010-03-15 at 06:16 PM.

3. - Top - End - #3

Quote Originally Posted by FoE View Post
    The problem with candles is that the game table is already pretty cluttered and this is just another thing taking up space. Also, you'd need more than one candle, at the very least.
    You could have candles around the room. Anybody ever seen the movie Mazes and Monsters? : p

...if not you should, its a horrible 80's movie about the dangers of d&d and I believe it was Tom Hanks' first role.
    Gary Gygax: "As an author, I also realize that there are limits to my creativity and imagination. Others will think of things I didn't, and devise things beyond my capabilities".

Also Gary Gygax: "The AD&D game system does not allow the injection of extraneous material. That is clearly stated in the rule books. It is thus a simple matter: Either one plays the AD&D game, or one plays something else."

4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground