Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Cisturn's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    New York
    Gender
    Male

    Question Reincarnate Question

    Ok, so in our last session, one of our players, a natural lycanthrope were-elephant was killed and brought back using a scroll of reincarnate. My question is would he remain a were-elephant? The Dm is going with no, because he was born a lycanthrope, so it's more of race ability. Does anyone know the actual rules on this?
    awesome blues brothers avatar by strategos

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Starbuck_II's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Enterprise, Alabama
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Cisturn View Post
    Ok, so in our last session, one of our players, a natural lycanthrope were-elephant was killed and brought back using a scroll of reincarnate. My question is would he remain a were-elephant? The Dm is going with no, because he was born a lycanthrope, so it's more of race ability. Does anyone know the actual rules on this?
    No, templates don't stay. You are a new body/creature. Unless you roll were-elephant, you aren't.
    The only exception is roll 100. Then DM decides what you become so you could.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2008

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Starbuck_II View Post
    No, templates don't stay. You are a new body/creature. Unless you roll were-elephant, you aren't.
    The only exception is roll 100. Then DM decides what you become so you could.
    Which is the reason Maximized Reincarnate is so much fun.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Troll in the Playground
     
    tonberrian's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Keshay View Post
    Which is the reason Maximized Reincarnate is so much fun.
    Alternatively, Intensified Reincarnate. Double the fun.
    Last edited by tonberrian; 2010-04-06 at 09:06 AM.
    The name is "tonberrian", even when it begins a sentence. It's magic, I ain't gotta 'splain why.

    Rick Venture avatar by kpenguin, his GM.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2009

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    So how would that template loss, and hence +LA loss transfer to the characters new body? do they suddenly spurt up a few levels? depending ofc on level and LA they had before

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    London, England

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Parra View Post
    So how would that template loss, and hence +LA loss transfer to the characters new body? do they suddenly spurt up a few levels? depending ofc on level and LA they had before
    I think they would just lose those levels, so they'd be a lower level. They would catch up quickly enough.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    I have a similar question. What about bloodlines, do they stay? And what if you Reincarnate into a form with LA/RHD, like Bugbear or Lizardfolk?
    Last edited by Ranger Mattos; 2010-04-06 at 09:16 AM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Dragonprime View Post
    Wouldn't a bulb only be sharp if someone broke it? Oh...wait...that's actually very fitting for this situation. Well played Ranger Mattos. Your metaphor-crafting is masterful indeed.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Farlion's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Switzerland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Parra View Post
    So how would that template loss, and hence +LA loss transfer to the characters new body? do they suddenly spurt up a few levels? depending ofc on level and LA they had before
    From the D&D Wiki:

    "A reincarnated creature recalls the majority of its former life and form. It retains any class abilities, feats, or skill ranks it formerly possessed. Its class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points are unchanged. Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution scores depend partly on the new body. First eliminate the subjectís racial adjustments (since it is no longer of his previous race) and then apply the adjustments found below to its remaining ability scores. The subjectís level (or Hit Dice) is reduced by 1. If the subject was 1st level, its new Constitution score is reduced by 2. (If this reduction would put its Con at 0 or lower, it canít be reincarnated). This level/HD loss or Constitution loss cannot be repaired by any means. "

    For human this ability score modification is +0 +0 +0 (Str, Dex, Con).

    So I would say, you lose your LA without gaining any class levels for it.
    78% of DM's started their first campaign in a tavern. If you're one of the 22% that didn't, copy and paste this into your signature.

    Where did you start yours?
    I started mine in a cave, a place of pilgrimage, where the PCs were alloted to bring the offerings.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    unre9istered's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    If the DM was interested in not screwing the player out of the LA that they've paid for then he could make a new Reincarnate chart populated by +3 LA races/templates.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Gaborn in Into the Third Age
    Geist in Thershadeth
    Kinkal in Voyage of the Iron Maiden
    Jubilus Bellum in To Steal the Sun...On Earth as it is in Heaven
    Frahraek in The Secret Society [Take That 4th Wall]
    Thuk in A Brave New Frontier
    David Narless (Daeclan) in Age of Worms

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2009

    Default Re: Reincarnate Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Farlion View Post
    From the D&D Wiki:

    "A reincarnated creature recalls the majority of its former life and form. It retains any class abilities, feats, or skill ranks it formerly possessed. Its class, base attack bonus, base save bonuses, and hit points are unchanged. Strength, Dexterity, and Constitution scores depend partly on the new body. First eliminate the subjectís racial adjustments (since it is no longer of his previous race) and then apply the adjustments found below to its remaining ability scores. The subjectís level (or Hit Dice) is reduced by 1. If the subject was 1st level, its new Constitution score is reduced by 2. (If this reduction would put its Con at 0 or lower, it canít be reincarnated). This level/HD loss or Constitution loss cannot be repaired by any means. "

    For human this ability score modification is +0 +0 +0 (Str, Dex, Con).

    So I would say, you lose your LA without gaining any class levels for it.
    0 = lvl 1 Racial Level
    1,000xp = lvl 2 Racial Level
    2,000xp = lvl 3 Racial Level
    3,000xp = lvl 4 Racial Level

    4,000xp = lvl 5 race level adjustment
    5,000xp = lvl 6 race level adjustment
    6,000xp = lvl 7 race level adjustment

    7,000xp = lvl 8 class lvl 1
    8,000xp = lvl 9 class lvl 2
    9,000xp = lvl 10 class lvl 3

    Total of 45,000 xp

    You then die, get reincarnated and lose 1 level in the process. This is equal to 9000xp, hence dropping you xp total to 36,000.
    You also lose any racial hit dice, and templates

    Does this then leave you with;
    a lvl 9 character with 36,000xp (9,000 xp loss)
    or
    a lvl 3 character with 3,000xp (42,000 xp loss)

    the lvl 3 character option is quite sucky, loosing the equivilant to 7 levels is a harsh harsh blow. If it happened to a character of mine, I would probably ditch the character at the first chance i got (presuming ofc it wasn't at the centre of some awesome story)
    Personally I like unre9istered's idea
    Last edited by Parra; 2010-04-06 at 09:40 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •