Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2010

    Default Longbow wielding

    So I got a question. It is about longbows. From the SDR
    You need at least two hands to use a bow, regardless of its size.
    Does that mean I need to have two hands to attack with it or does that mean I need two hands to wield it?

    I ask this because I am making a wizard (Elf) and I want to know if I can still cast spells when I have a longbow in hand.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Tyger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Re: Longbow wielding

    Quote Originally Posted by Criptfeind View Post
    So I got a question. It is about longbows. From the SDRDoes that mean I need to have two hands to attack with it or does that mean I need two hands to wield it?

    I ask this because I am making a wizard (Elf) and I want to know if I can still cast spells when I have a longbow in hand.
    Well, unless you are "using" the bow, i.e. shooting an arrow, then you don't have to worry about it.

    There is a rule somewhere (and my srd-search-fu failed me finding it) that speaks to two handed weapons being held in one hand whilst you cast a spell.... so its RAW to do exactly what you are talking about.
    Thanks The Neoclassic for my avatar!

    Stark Raving Dad - a blog about life.

    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by theos911 View Post
    Fighter: I can kill a guy in one turn.
    Cleric: I can kill a guy in half a turn.
    Wizard: I can kill a guy before my turn!
    Bard: I can get 12 idiots to go kill guys for me
    Quote Originally Posted by grarrrg View Post
    Oh, and Person-Man's real name is a little something called "SKYNET"

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Longbow wielding

    Well even if you don't use common sense by RAW holding and wielding are two different things. Yes, you may cast spells. Likewise two-handed weapons may be held in 1 hand, though not swung this way. A semi-related note is that your shield hand may hold other objects like a torch, but it can't be used to swing a weapon (exception: buckler) or cast spells or etc. So you could wield both a buckler and a bow in your left hand, and since you pull back the string and cast with your right hand you may do both without penalty. If you use a mithril buckler there isn't even a spell failure chance.
    Last edited by ericgrau; 2010-07-27 at 03:08 PM.
    So you never have to interrupt a game to look up a rule again:
    My 3.5e Rules Cheat Sheets: Normal, With Consolidated Skill System
    TOGC's 3.5e Spell/etc Cards: rpgnow / drivethru rpg
    Utilities: Magic Item Shop Generator (Req. MS Excel), Balanced Low Magic Item System
    Printable Cardstock Dungeon Tiles and other terrain stuff (100 MB)

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Longbow wielding

    Wielding is really just an issue with melee weapons, because you only threaten with a weapon you wield. Excepting some very special circumstances, you don't threaten with ranged weapons.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Apr 2010

    Default Re: Longbow wielding

    Quote Originally Posted by Tyger View Post
    There is a rule somewhere (and my srd-search-fu failed me finding it) that speaks to two handed weapons being held in one hand whilst you cast a spell.... so its RAW to do exactly what you are talking about.
    Sweet. I did not know this. Thanks guys.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Hawaii
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Longbow wielding

    If you couldn't, then wizards couldn't use staves, which would certainly not be RAI, if nothing else. :P
    Beginnings usually happen over trifles... even if it's a coincidence...

    ~ Final Fantasy Tactics

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •