Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male

    Default [E]A question about Stealth

    What are all the things that could be used to hide? For example, would shadowns count, even though they don't "technically" grant concealment? What about difficult terrain, if your character is small? I'm thinking of a specific example where there were many smashed crates and barrels about, but it was only dificult terrain?

    Also,one other thing- Why don't Kobold PC's get darkvision? My DM absolutely refuses to houserule anything, so that means my Kobold Assassin can't see in the dark, but every other kobold can?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    The SRD says Kobold characters get Darkvision, and I'm fairly sure the MM says so as well.

    If something can be used as cover to hide behind is completely to the judgement of the dm. When he says it's big enough, it is.
    Last edited by Yora; 2010-08-03 at 05:36 PM.
    We are not standing on the shoulders of giants, but on very tall tower of other dwarves.

    Beneath the Leaves of Kaendor - Writing Sword & Sorcery
    Spriggan's Den Heroic Fantasy Roleplaying

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2008

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Are we talking 3.5?
    Because a Kobold PC does get darkvision.
    Quote Originally Posted by D20 SRD: Kobolds

    Kobold characters possess the following racial traits.
    * * *
    • Darkvision out to 60 feet.

    Quote Originally Posted by Calanon View Post
    Raven_Cry's comments often have the effects of a +5 Tome of Understanding

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Orc in the Playground
     
    RogueGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Michigan
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Since he's talking about the Stealth skill, and an Assassin (a base class in 4e)

    I'm going to go out a limb here and assume 4E, where the entry for PC kobolds are listed as not getting darkvision even though their monster entry in the MM has them with it.

    Weird.
    Last edited by Swok; 2010-08-03 at 05:52 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bassetking View Post
    ...You don't know joy, until you look into the eyes of the GM, and see a scream of terror frozen right behind his pupils.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Banned
     
    Snake-Aes's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    R'lyeh
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Quote Originally Posted by Swok View Post
    Since he's talking about the Stealth skill, and an Assassin (a base class in 4e)

    I'm going to go out a limb here and assume 4E, where the entry for PC kobolds are listed as not getting darkvision even though their monster entry in the MM has them with it.

    Weird.
    So basically a typo that causes lawful stupid dms to make kobolds suddenly go blind by gaining class levels.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Quote Originally Posted by Snake-Aes View Post
    So basically a typo that causes lawful stupid dms to make kobolds suddenly go blind by gaining class levels.
    Yeah, pretty much. I only ask because maybe it WAS a typo. oh well, guess I'm stuck with my blinded Kobold -_-

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Dunno about 4e but in 3e you need either cover or concealment to hide. That seems like the kind of thing that would stay the same in 4e. Cover is any object or creature between you and the observer. Concealment is anything that obstructs vision, such as shadowy illumination (partial darkness) or fog, covering you or between you and the observer. This is all partial cover or partial concealment. If you have total cover or total concealment, there is of course little or no reason to hide because you can't be seen anyway.

    So, yes, shadows count because they do grant concealment. Terrain counts because the random crates and barrels grant cover.

    In 2e darkvision was sacred and kept away from PCs in various ways. So maybe he's playing 2e and the "no you're a PC you can't have darkvision" is intentional.
    Last edited by ericgrau; 2010-08-03 at 06:16 PM.
    So you never have to interrupt a game to look up a rule again:
    My 3.5e Rules Cheat Sheets: Normal, With Consolidated Skill System
    TOGC's 3.5e Spell/etc Cards: rpgnow / drivethru rpg
    Utilities: Magic Item Shop Generator (Req. MS Excel), Balanced Low Magic Item System
    Printable Cardstock Dungeon Tiles and other terrain stuff (100 MB)

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Sorry about the title, there was supposed to be a [4E] there in the title. So yes, this is all fourth edition.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2007

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Yeah, I guess he missed the 4 from his bracket, there. That would make sense.

    If so, the thing to remember is that the Kobold entry is only really a template for the DM if he wants to make NPC's with classes, in theory.

    You'll notice that many of the races that got updated to full legitimate PC write-up were rebalanced and generally tweaked. Given that Kobolds in the MM entry DO get Darkvision, and technically the race entry is for the DM first, I can only assume that it is an error.

    HOWEVER, being allowed to use it at all comes at the cost of asking the DM nicely, so you may as well just ask him nicely if you could have Darkvision like in the entries, or perhaps compromise on Low-Light vision, (Which is more Player Friendly).

    As for the hiding situation, unless you have feats or utility powers or so on, I believe you need BETTER than cover or concealment to make a stealth check. If you had the assassin power up that allows you to make stealth checks at basic concealment etc, then I'd say crouching behind some rubble whilst outside of the main light sources should be plenty, but that depends really on whether the enemy had Darkvision or similar, too.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    SolithKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2007

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Just re-checked the player's handbook 2 - there's a re-write of the stealth rules there.

    In order to become hidden, you must meet one of three categories: total concealment, superior cover, or outside of the enemy's line of sight. Outside of combat, you can hide from a distracted enemy (one who isn't paying attention to you) even without one of these three.

    In order to stay hidden, you must have cover or concealment, not speak louder than a whisper, and not move more than 2 squares (or move & take a penalty to Stealth)

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    potatocubed's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Oxford, England
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Remember when trying to gain total concealment (for hiding) that a kobold is three feet tall and pretty thin. If one of the other party members is wearing wizard robes or a long skirt, you can probably get total concealment by standing behind them.
    I write a gaming blog. It also hosts my gaming downloads:

    Fatescape - FATE-based D&D emulator, for when you want D&D flavour but not D&D complexity.
    Exalted Mass Combat Rules - Because the ones in the core book suck.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Titan in the Playground
     
    ElfRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Imagination Land
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: [E]A question about Stealth

    Quote Originally Posted by potatocubed View Post
    Remember when trying to gain total concealment (for hiding) that a kobold is three feet tall and pretty thin. If one of the other party members is wearing wizard robes or a long skirt, you can probably get total concealment by standing behind them.
    Yeah, but where were you planning on hiding? I think the Wizard or lady in question might have a problem with that....
    Last edited by KillianHawkeye; 2010-08-04 at 07:04 AM.
    "Nothing you can't spell will ever work." - Will Rogers

    Watch me draw and swear at video games.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •