New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Banned

Default [3.5]Need New Character Advice

Hello everyone;

Im (probably) about to join a new group; their adventure is already half-way, and they are all level 5. The party consists of a dwarven fighter (defensively focused), a dwarven cleric (player is new and the other dwarf's girlfriend, so she plays like a healbot / turnbot for everyone most of the time, which I dont like, frankly), an elven wizard (not sure the school spec; seems blaster-ish, rules lawyer but also a cheater, dislike him the most), a human rogue (roleplayer, not worried one bit about contributing in combat or optimizing) and a fighter/ranger going into Bow Order PRC.

The DM is pretty bad, but Ive only ever DM'ed since I started playing RPGs so ANY chance to play is a gods-send. I point this out because I want to make a very simple, very straight-forward, no cheese kind of character. We already had an impasse where he turned down several of my character ideas, in order:

- A warblade is way overpowered and ToB is a book only for arena-like mindless combat. He was happy when he thought maneuvers where an spellcaster's splatbook, but giving those to melee? WAY TOO MUCH. O. K.
    - A Binder is way overpowered. Changing "class" every day would obsolete everyone and make me a jerk. Also, no dark or evil themes in his "world". O. K.
    - Dragonfire Adept is way overpowered. Spamming AoE shouldn't be possible, and Im a cheating powergamer for wanting that. O. K.
    - Warlock is a no go either, even though it IS in one of his approved books. No evil clause and all that.
    - Orc barbarian was banned too, not on the basis of barbarian but on the basis of Orc. +4 to A SINGLE STAT?!! INCONCEIVABLE (literal quote).