Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Dark Kerman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010

    Default Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    This is a question I have wondered, as Death Ward does stop death effects, but Implosion is an evocation spell, that works by internal rupture, and not by direct magic on flesh.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    sonofzeal's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2008

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark Kerman View Post
    Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    This is a question I have wondered, as Death Ward does stop death effects, but Implosion is an evocation spell, that works by internal rupture, and not by direct magic on flesh.
    Implosion does not have the [Death] tag.
    Avatar by Crimmy

    Zeal's Tier System for PrC's
    Zeal's Expanded Alignment System
    Zeal's "Creative" Build Requests
    Bubs the Commoner
    Zeal's "Minimum-Intervention" balance fix
    Feat Point System fix (in progress)

    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by JadePhoenix View Post
    sonofzeal, you're like a megazord of awesome and win.
    Quote Originally Posted by Doc Roc View Post
    SonOfZeal, it is a great joy to see that your Kung-Fu remains undiminished in this, the twilight of an age. May the Great Wheel be kind to you, planeswalker.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yora's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Germany

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    It does not have the [Death] descriptor or is reffered to as a death effect, so it isn't.
    We are not standing on the shoulders of giants, but on very tall tower of other dwarves.

    Beneath the Leaves of Kaendor - Writing Sword & Sorcery
    Spriggan's Den Heroic Fantasy Roleplaying

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kitchener/Waterloo
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dark Kerman View Post
    Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    This is a question I have wondered, as Death Ward does stop death effects, but Implosion is an evocation spell, that works by internal rupture, and not by direct magic on flesh.
    "death effects" means effects with the [Death] descriptor. Implosion lacks said descriptor and is thus not stopped by Death Ward.
    Lord Raziere herd I like Blasphemy, so Urpriest Exalted as a Malefactor

    Meet My Monstrous Guide to Monsters. Everything you absolutely need to know about Monsters and never thought you needed to ask.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mithril Leaf View Post
    One of the unwritten rules of Giantitp is that Urpriest is always right.
    Trophy!
    Spoiler
    Show


    original Urpriest (by Andraste)

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Must be why implosion is a 9th level spell. Rarely is a save or die exactly that; there are often a dozen ways around it even if you fail the save. Incorporeal and gaseous creatures thwart implosion, but for a creature to become one of those when he isn't one already is impractical.
    So you never have to interrupt a game to look up a rule again:
    My 3.5e Rules Cheat Sheets: Normal, With Consolidated Skill System
    TOGC's 3.5e Spell/etc Cards: rpgnow / drivethru rpg
    Utilities: Magic Item Shop Generator (Req. MS Excel), Balanced Low Magic Item System
    Printable Cardstock Dungeon Tiles and other terrain stuff (100 MB)

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Colossus in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Quote Originally Posted by ericgrau View Post
    Must be why implosion is a 9th level spell. Rarely is a save or die exactly that; there are often a dozen ways around it even if you fail the save. Incorporeal and gaseous creatures thwart implosion, but for a creature to become one of those when he isn't one already is impractical.
    Well, there's always Shapechange...
    Campaign Journal: Uncovering the Lost World - A Player's Diary in Low-Magic D&D (Latest Update: 8.3.2014)
    Being Bane: A Guide to Barbarians Cracking Small Men - Ever Been Angry?! Then this is for you!
    SRD Averages - An aggregation of all the key stats of all the monster entries on SRD arranged by CR.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    BardGirl

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    I'd rather optimize Baleful Polymorph though. I mean if i go the SoD way. Or Disintegrate for the coolness factor.
    Last edited by Myth; 2010-11-15 at 04:54 PM.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Chimera

    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Implosion also lets you use it on up to 4 foes over the course of the battle, so it can be fairly efficient, making it situationally better than finger of death. While slower than wail of the banshee (which can be negated by death ward or silence), it is impossible to stop barring high fort saves.

    Clerics also don't really get a lot of SoDs, so it is a rather solid spell in that aspect.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    BardGirl

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    If there's more than one enemy that you need to instant kill in that encounter I'd say you have other things to worry about instead of spell slot economy.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Warlawk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    The summoning chamber
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Myth View Post
    If there's more than one enemy that you need to instant kill in that encounter I'd say you have other things to worry about instead of spell slot economy.
    But really, with a spell like implosion it's not that you need to cast it so much as you sit around rubbing your hands together cackling quietly to yourself, just waiting for a good chance to do so!
    Last edited by Warlawk; 2010-11-15 at 06:38 PM.
    A man who dies fighting with his principles intact dies in glory. To expect enemies to follow the same code of honor defiles that honor, reducing it to a set of arbitrary rules.

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    BardGirl

    Join Date
    Mar 2010

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Warlawk View Post
    But really, with a spell like implosion it's not that you need to cast it so much as you sit around rubbing your hands together cackling quietly to yourself, just waiting for a good chance to do so!
    I always wanted to cast Meteor Swarm over a large "army" of level 1 Warriors. That would make me react the same way, plus a copious amount of drool.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Dark Kerman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2010

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    I once spent an hour discussing various uses of Polymorph any object, including using it as a death spell, and my one freind rather worryingly using it by turning someone into dust then putting them in two seperate jars... *shudder*

    Thanks for the help guys. Really appreciate it. :)

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Colossus in the Playground
     
    Eldan's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Switzerland
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Myth View Post
    I always wanted to cast Meteor Swarm over a large "army" of level 1 Warriors. That would make me react the same way, plus a copious amount of drool.
    See, in that case, I'd cast Storm of Vengeance. It's not good for anything else, but very good at killing large armies.
    "Après la vie - le mort, après le mort, la vie de noveau.
    Après le monde - le gris; après le gris - le monde de nouveau.
    "

  14. - Top - End - #14
    Troll in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2007

    Default Re: Does Death Ward also stop the spell Implosion?

    Quote Originally Posted by Myth View Post
    I always wanted to cast Meteor Swarm over a large "army" of level 1 Warriors. That would make me react the same way, plus a copious amount of drool.
    Something like this? Sure it's not optimal, but there are moments in wizards life, when he just needs to blow something up.
    In a war it doesn't matter who's right, only who's left.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •