New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    ClericGirl

    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Default [3.5] Arming your undead minions?

    I've been unable to find any rules for this --

    If I have, say, a skeleton that I have animated, can it use armor or weapons that I equip it with, or are they stuck with natural weapons?

    What about intelligent undead?

    I suppose if they started taking class levels they could gain proficiencies that way, but do they have any otherwise?
    Last edited by Yorae; 2011-02-06 at 03:03 PM.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Hiding and fleeing.

    Default Re: [3.5] Arming your undead minions?

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    A skeleton retains all the natural weapons, manufactured weapon attacks, and weapon proficiencies of the base creature
    That may answer your question, the answer depending on whether or not you think the base creature is specific (e.g. Edgar the Human Fighter Skeleton, who had Simple and Martial proficiencies) or general (e.g. Humanoid Skeleton, which does not gain any proficienies due to type). Not sure which I'd go for, but I'm sure someone else can do better than going to the SRD on Skeletons and looking at the text under "Attack".

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    ClericGirl

    Join Date
    Jan 2011

    Default Re: [3.5] Arming your undead minions?

    Quote Originally Posted by ScionoftheVoid View Post
    That may answer your question, the answer depending on whether or not you think the base creature is specific (e.g. Edgar the Human Fighter Skeleton, who had Simple and Martial proficiencies) or general (e.g. Humanoid Skeleton, which does not gain any proficienies due to type). Not sure which I'd go for, but I'm sure someone else can do better than going to the SRD on Skeletons and looking at the text under "Attack".
    D'oh. Why didn't I see that manufactured weapons clause?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •