Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground

Default Convincing a DM that Ulitharid should be allowed to be Gestalted <3.5>

I, ever since I started playing d&d, have wanted to play an optimized Mind Flayer. Now, I opened my copy of Lords of Madness (just for fun) and opened right to the ulitharid entry. I asked my DM, and he said I could, but I'd have 19 monster levels...

I have been under the impression that monster classes are a gimp more than a buff to play in a semi-optimized party. Unless your party is a group of Samurai, Truenamers, and Monks, you will be overshadowed by the party. So here was my thought: Let Monster Classes Gestalt.

So here's my conundrum: Would it actually be Overpowered, and what evidence could I show him to prove that a Gestalt Ulitarid/Psionic Build wouldn't overshadow a normal party?
    Current Avatar:
    Captain Roy Valiant by Lord Fullbladder

Former Avatars:
    Deepwyrm Drow Warblade by gurgleflep
    Kakashi Avatar by Dispozition
    Draenei Spellbreaker by KaptainKrutch
    Quote Originally Posted by Anecronwashere View Post
    Cleric: Right, I cast Infict Serious Wounds on that guy.
    DM: Sorry, you kissed too many babies this week, you heal him instead
    Cleric: Quick! Someone find me a dog to kick

2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground

Default Re: Convincing a DM that Ulitharid should be allowed to be Gestalted <3.5>

Quote Originally Posted by Tokuhara View Post
    I, ever since I started playing d&d, have wanted to play an optimized Mind Flayer. Now, I opened my copy of Lords of Madness (just for fun) and opened right to the ulitharid entry. I asked my DM, and he said I could, but I'd have 19 monster levels...