A Monster for Every Season: Summer 2
You can get A Monster for Every Season: Summer 2 now at Gumroad
Page 67 of 80 FirstFirst ... 1742575859606162636465666768697071727374757677 ... LastLast
Results 1,981 to 2,010 of 2394
  1. - Top - End - #1981
    Titan in the Playground
     
    TuggyNE's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A926: Yes. It's under the listing in Special Abilities.
    Quote Originally Posted by Water_Bear View Post
    That's RAW for you; 100% Rules-Legal, 110% silly.
    Quote Originally Posted by hamishspence View Post
    "Common sense" and "RAW" are not exactly on speaking terms
    Projects: Homebrew, Gentlemen's Agreement, DMPCs, Forbidden Knowledge safety, and Top Ten Worst. Also, Quotes and RACSD are good.

    Anyone knows blue is for sarcas'ing in · "Take 10 SAN damage from Dark Orchid" · Use of gray may indicate nitpicking · Green is sincerity

  2. - Top - End - #1982
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    The Land of Cleves
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 927:

    When you cast a spell that summons multiple swarms, such as Insect Plague or Creeping Doom, can you place the swarms on top of each other, such that a creature in the middle would take damage from all of them?
    Time travels in divers paces with divers persons.
    As You Like It, III:ii:328

    Chronos's Unalliterative Skillmonkey Guide
    Current Homebrew: 5th edition psionics

  3. - Top - End - #1983
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Sith_Happens's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Dromund Kaas
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 928

    Is the 1 point of energy damage from a Dragonfang weapon multiplied on a critical hit?
    Revan avatar by kaptainkrutch.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cirrylius View Post
    That's how wizards beta test their new animals. If it survives Australia, it's a go. Which in hindsight explains a LOT about Australia.

  4. - Top - End - #1984
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 928

    Yes, as long as the attack deals no other energy damage of the same type.

  5. - Top - End - #1985
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    EvilClericGuy

    Join Date
    May 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 929

    Can control sound psionic power prevent spellcasting?

  6. - Top - End - #1986
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 929 Maybe.

    If the spell includes a verbal component you can disrupt the spell. If the spell does not include a verbal component, you may be able to distract the spellcaster; however, they can overcome the distraction with an adequate Concentration check.

  7. - Top - End - #1987
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q930

    If a Magic Item or Construct doesn't have a listed CL for a SLA or spell duplicating effect does the CL for those spells just default to the CL the Item or Construct was created at?

    Or does it default to the minimum required to cast that spell?

  8. - Top - End - #1988
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    EvilClericGuy

    Join Date
    May 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 929b

    If a psion wants to prevent a caster to cast spells with verbal components by using control sounds, does he need to ready an action to do thatcher? Is one manifestation of the power enough to silence a caster untill he keeps concentrating or does the psion need to manifest control sounds every time the caster tries to cast a spell?
    Last edited by Melnir; 2013-11-17 at 06:08 AM.

  9. - Top - End - #1989
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q931

    If I have (feat) Ancestral Relic and put on an Augment crystal
    (MiC) does the augment crystals gp-value add to the weapons gp-value (since Ancestral Relic has a gp-limit for every level)?

  10. - Top - End - #1990
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 931

    No, an ancestral relic with an augment crystal still are two distinct magic items.

  11. - Top - End - #1991
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    SillySymphonies's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    [Q 932]
    Quote Originally Posted by d20 SRD
    This cost is the same for a Small or Medium version of the weapon. A Large version costs twice the listed price.
    How does the cost increase for a Large version interact with the price increase for e.g. a special material or a composite bow for above-average Str? The FAQ has this to say:
    Quote Originally Posted by D&D FAQ v.3.5
    On page 217 of the DMG, it states that “the cost of the masterwork quality and any magical enhancement remains the same” regardless of a creature’s unusual size or shape. Adamantine and mithral both state that items made from such material are masterwork quality and the masterwork cost is part of the material cost listed. How much would a set of mithral chainmail barding for my warhorse cost?
    A strict reading of the rules indicates that in such a case the masterwork cost for armor should be subtracted from the special material price before applying the multiplier for any unusual size or shape of the intended wearer.
    For example, according to the Armor for Unusual Creatures chart on page 123 of the PH, a set of chainmail barding for a warhorse (a Large nonhumanoid creature) would normally cost 600 gp (four times the normal cost of 150 gp). A set of mithral chainmail barding would cost 16,000 gp: 600 gp for the chainmail barding plus 15,400 gp (the cost of mithral medium armor [4,000 gp], minus the masterwork cost for armor [150 gp], times 4).
    However, the FAQ has been known to be wrong before.
    Is the FAQ correct in this matter and if not, is there any other definite source on this matter?

  12. - Top - End - #1992
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 929b

    Because spellcasting (other than immediate action spells) takes place on the spellcaster's turn, you would indeed need to Ready an action to mess with the spell's verbal components by manifesting Control Sound. You could not use a previously-manifested Control Sound because both Ready and concentration to maintain a manifested power require a standard action.

    A 930

    If the spell effect is the only function of an item, use the listed CL (examples: wands, scrolls, and a Ring of Invisibility). If an item has multiple properties, you should provide a more specific question or ask your individual DM.

    A 932

    If a special material has a construction price by weight (example: a darkwood shield) you follow that formula. If the special material cost is an additive figure per armor category (example: mithral light armor + 1,000 gp) you do figure the masterwork cost separately from the rest of the material surcharge. Thus mithral light armor for a Large Nonhumanoid creature would have a material surcharge of [4 x (1,000 - 150)] + 150 gp = 3,550 gp, added to 4x the regular cost of the listed light armor.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; 2013-11-17 at 01:48 PM.

  13. - Top - End - #1993
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 933

    Bonuses with different types and untyped bonuses stack unless they are from the same source. How does one determine whether the source is different? Is there a section in the books that gives a method for doing so?
    Last edited by Andezzar; 2013-11-17 at 02:48 PM.

  14. - Top - End - #1994
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 933

    Source is determined by name. Examples from Dungeon Master's Guide:
    Sneak Attack: This is exactly like the rogue ability of the same name. The extra damage dealt increases by +1d6 every other level (2nd, 4th, 6th, 8th, and 10th). If an arcane trickster gets a sneak attack bonus from another source (such as rogue levels) the bonuses on damage stack.
    Sneak Attack: This is exactly like the rogue ability of the same name. The extra damage dealt increases by +1d6 every other level (1st, 3rd, 5th, 7th, and 9th). If an assassin gets a sneak attack bonus from another source (such as rogue levels) the bonuses on damage stack.
    Sneak Attack: This ability, gained at 4th level, is like the rogue ability of the same name. The extra damage increases by +1d6 every third level beyond 4th (7th and 10th). If a blackguard gets a sneak attack bonus from another source (such as rogue levels) the bonuses on damage stack.
    Sneak Attack, the named class feature of Rogue, Arcane Trickster, Assassin, and Blackguard classes, is a bonus source. These examples show explicit exceptions to the general stacking rule; normally multiple instances of Sneak Attack would not stack.

    Because this is definition from context rather than a Glossary entry for "source", there's no guidance whether a source name my devolve to a sub-feature (example: the Weapon Focus manifestation of the Swordsage Discipline Focus class feature). In such cases determining the source name (Discipline Focus vs. Weapon Focus) will be up to each individual DM.

  15. - Top - End - #1995
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2011

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q934: Do Shadow Jaunt, Shadow Stride, etc trigger Thicket of Blades + Stand Still?
    Last edited by Story; 2013-11-17 at 10:53 PM.

  16. - Top - End - #1996
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 934 No.

    Both Thicket of Blades and Stand Still require movement. Teleportation is relocation without movement.

  17. - Top - End - #1997
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    yougi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q935

    Could a Geomancer use his divine spells to trigger Arcane Strike, as per Spell Versatility?
    Spoiler: ICitP Participations
    Show

    L - Corrupt Avenger - Brooswayn Scourgesoul (4th)
    LI - Black Flame Zealot - Anubis (SILVER)


    Blackguard Avatar from Cealocanth

  18. - Top - End - #1998
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q936

    The Runic Guardian from MM2 does not have a listed CL for its SLAs. Do they then default to the CL the Construct is created at, like a Magic Item?

    Or do they default to it's HD like a creature?

    Or do they default to the minimum CL for the spell?

    Or the CL that the spells are cast at during its creation?

  19. - Top - End - #1999
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 936
    Runic Spells (Sp): A runic guardian can hold up to six spells. These spells must be cast into its body when it is created.
    The creator of the Runic Guardian sets the caster level at creation.

  20. - Top - End - #2000
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 937 Can a psion use independent research to learn a power on another discipline's restricted list? E.g., could a shaper research true mind switch?
    Marshal of the Eternal Legion PrC (Necromancer-Marshal Hybrid)
    Traveler in the Infinite Night PrC (Shadow Plane Burglars)
    Dimensional Legionnaire PrC (Tactical Teleporters)

  21. - Top - End - #2001
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2007

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 938

    The spellthief's Steal Spell Effect ability reads as follows:

    Spoiler
    Show
    Steal Spell Effect (Su): Beginning at 2nd level, a spellthief can siphon an active spell effect from another creature. A spellthief who hits an opponent with a sneak attack can choose to forgo dealing 1d6 points of sneak attack damage and instead gain the effect of a single spell affecting the target. If the target is willing, a spellthief can steal a spell effect with a touch as a standard action.

    The spellthief can choose which spell effect to steal; otherwise, the DM determines the stolen spell effect randomly. If a spellthief tries to steal a spell effect that isn't present, the stolen spell effect is determined randomly from among those currently in effect on the target. A spellthief can't steal a spell effect if its caster level exceeds his class level + his Charisma modifier.

    Upon stealing a spell effect, a spellthief gains the stolen effect (and the original creature loses that effect) for 1 minute per class level (or until the spell's duration expires, whichever comes first). If the spell effect's duration hasn't expired by this time, the spell effect returns to the creature that originally benefited from it.

    A spellthief can steal the effect of a spell only if the spell could be cast on him by the original caster. For example, a spellthief couldn't gain the effect of an animal growth spell (unless the spellthief is of the animal type) or the effect of a shield spell (since that spell's range is personal). If a spellthief tries to steal the effect of a spell not allowed to him, the effect is still suppressed on the original target of the spell for 1 minute per spellthief class level.

    This ability does not work on spell effects that are immune to dispel magic (such as bestow curse).


    If a spellthief tries to steal a spell effect whose caster level exceeds his class level + his Charisma modifier, is the effect suppressed on the original target of the spell for 1 minute per spellthief class level?

  22. - Top - End - #2002
    Orc in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 939

    If Bite of the Wereboar is cast upon a tiger via a druid's share spells ability, how does the granted bite attack interact with the tigers current bite attack? Does one override the other, or does it get both?
    Last edited by Samalpetey; 2013-11-18 at 03:31 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by factotum View Post
    "Whatever the plot requires" is the most pointless argument anyone can make. Yes, we know that--we know this is a story, not a strangely-presented history lesson. However, if we just say, "There's no point in discussing this because what will happen is what the plot demands" then there's no point in having *any* discussion on these boards, and Rich might as well close down the OotS part of the forum now!

  23. - Top - End - #2003
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 939

    The creature's face becomes that of a boar, and it thus gains the bite attack of a boar. Since its face is no longer that of a tiger, it doesn't have the tiger's bite attack for the duration of Bite of the Wereboar.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; 2013-11-18 at 04:14 PM.

  24. - Top - End - #2004
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q940

    Is there anywhere in the books where it goes into detail about the physical condition of the remains, or lack thereof, of Undead destroyed by a Cleric's Turning?

    Do they just fall down lifeless (or rather animation-less), do they crumble to dust, vanish into nothing?

  25. - Top - End - #2005
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 940

    "Destroyed" refers only to the corpse's ability to be returned to the undead state. From Libris Mortis on pages 20-21:
    A staked vampire will quickly return to life if the stake is removed before the body has been destroyed properly (such as by removing the creature’s head and filling its mouth with holy wafers).
    Skeletons normally remain intact when destroyed, leading to some interesting applications.
    Brittlebone: This unguent must be spread over a set of bones before animation as a skeleton. The ointment reduces the skeleton’s natural armor by 2 points (to a minimum of 0), but when the skeleton is destroyed, its bones splinter and fly apart, sending shards in all directions.
    Some undead turn effects will reduce an undead creature to dust.

  26. - Top - End - #2006
    Troll in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    South East USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 941

    Can the spell Thunderlance be Persisted?

  27. - Top - End - #2007
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    GreataxeFighterGuy

    Join Date
    Aug 2012

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 942
    If I have multiple weapon focus feats for different weapons, would a weapon with the Aptitude enchantment (Tome of Battle pg 148) benefit from each weapon focus feat?

  28. - Top - End - #2008
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jan 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Quote Originally Posted by INoKnowNames View Post
    Q 941

    Can the spell Thunderlance be Persisted?
    A 941

    Yes. Thunderlance has a fixed range (0 ft.), it has a non-instantaneous duration, and it is not a spell whose effect is discharged. It is therefore eligible to be Persisted.
    Last edited by Karnith; 2013-11-18 at 08:05 PM.
    Tier System for Classes | Why Each Class Is In Its Tier

    On the use of the tier system:
    Quote Originally Posted by Darius Kane View Post
    "What's this? A TV Guide? How dare you tell me what movies I should watch! Fitness guide? Burn it, I can take care of my health by myself, thank you very much!"

  29. - Top - End - #2009
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    A 942 Yes.

    However, that repeated benefit would net you absolutely nothing after the first.
    In general, having a feat twice is the same as having it once.

  30. - Top - End - #2010
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Feb 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXIV

    Q 943

    is there a Pronghorn/Mountain Goat statted out anywhere? looking for a particularly nimble/mobile/acrobatic mount. (any other suggestions are welcome)
    Quote Originally Posted by TuggyNE View Post
    That's a RAW abuse. Fortunately, like many RAW abuses, it has its counter built in by way of more stupid RAW: tripping does not, in fact, cause you to fall.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •