New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground

Zombie

Default [3.x/PF] Need 20-lvl Base Class burglar/engineer hybrid

I am not good at designing new Classes, so I am looking for some help creating a new Base Class. What I am imagining is:

A "Burglar/Engineer" hybrid, 20-level Base Class, using 3.x or Pathfinder rules in a near-future, post apocalypse setting. Kind of a Rogue who is savvy on technical stuff.

Each level should have something. No "dead" levels. Standard Rogue abilities like Trapfinding and Trapsense are acceptable. Dropping Sneak Attack is OK if it's for something equally as good. Same with Rogue Talents, or perhaps change or add some new Talents with a futuristic twist.

The setting is near future, post-apocalypse, on an Earth-like planet with both technology and a supernatural spell casting system based on Pathfinder's "Words of Power." Casters must bind to a Spirit to be able to cast Words of Power. I am guessing that this class would stay away from Spirits, instead relying on technology and wits. Those dedicated to technology can gain control over swarms of nanobots and have powers similar to Words of Power.

Magic is uncommon, and there are no "magic items" per se, except those related to the spell system.

Assuming that Relics are Supernatural and Artifacts are Technological, there aren't really any Relics, but there are Artifacts.

I am guessing that, along with some Rogue abilities, Class Abilities would include such things as Fabrication and/or Repair of devices, perhaps starting at small size and/or simple and getting better with levels... Making things that run, run better... deciphering Old World tech in a sort of reverse-engineering... these are just ideas, let your imagination be your guide.