New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Deathcow's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Goshen, IN
    Gender
    Male

    Default Stupid question, but...

    ...how many spells per level do wizards add to their spellbooks? Two? Or two per spell level they can cast? For example, when Bob the Wizard hits level 5, does he get two 1st level spells, two 2nd levels spells, and two 3rd level spells added to his spellbook, or does he get two spells and needs to pick which levels they are?
    "Thrice-cursed spell resistance! It's almost like the universe itself is trying to deliberately force some form of arbitrary equality between those of us who can reshape matter with our thoughts and those who cannot."
    Nope, nothing to see here. Move along, citizen.

    Avatar of Ba'el, the half-orc elemental savant, courtesy of Dire Penguin.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Central PA

    Default Re: Stupid question, but...

    Two spells total, not two per level. From the SRD ( http://www.d20srd.org/srd/classes/sorcererWizard.htm#wizard ):
    At each new wizard level, she gains two new spells of any spell level or levels that she can cast (based on her new wizard level) for her spellbook.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    HalflingRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Manila, PH
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Stupid question, but...

    hehehe, two. sucks huh? That's why you have to buy scrolls or beat other casters for their spellbooks.
    My mother says: those on fire should roll.

  4. - Top - End - #4

    Default Re: Stupid question, but...

    Or take the Collegiate Wizard feat from the Complete Arcane.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    HalflingRangerGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Manila, PH
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Stupid question, but...

    Or the Apprentice feat from complete arcane mage. Wait I can't find it... its a feat available only at first level that lets you have a mentor that lets you copy spells off his spellbooks for free during game downtimes. drawbacks being he might be abusive and well, he can die. -_- PH2? I dunno at this point
    Last edited by cupkeyk; 2007-01-02 at 10:34 PM. Reason: mistake
    My mother says: those on fire should roll.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Sheriff in the Playground Administrator
     
    Roland St. Jude's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Stupid question, but...

    Quote Originally Posted by cupkeyk View Post
    Or the Apprentice feat from complete arcane mage. Wait I can't find it... its a feat available only at first level that lets you have a mentor that lets you copy spells off his spellbooks for free during game downtimes. drawbacks being he might be abusive and well, he can die. -_- PH2? I dunno at this point
    DMGII ....
    Forum Rules

    Sheriff Roland by Chris the Pontifex

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •