Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    PaladinGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Elsewhere
    Gender
    Male

    Default Regeneration and...

    I have a question.

    My players are going off against a band of trolls, and I realized I don't really understand how regeneration works.

    Are creatures with Regeneration vulnerable to sneak attacks? How about poison? Can an assassin's death attack kill one?

    Best regards,
    Talyn
    Honor guard at the funeral in the Miko Fan Club.

    Those who are too stupid to run, I salute you.

    Human Male, age 35

    "Have you come to lecture me on my evil ways?"

    "Actually, I brought you some supper. But if you'd prefer a lecture, I've a few very catchy ones prepped; sin and hellfire... one has lepers."

    - Inara and Book, Firefly

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Halfling in the Playground
     
    John_D's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Regeneration and...

    Creatures with regeneration are vulnerable to sneak attacks, just remember that all damage taken is converted to non-lethal damage.

    Poisons that do not deal hit point damage ignore regeneration.

    And quoting from the srd: "An attack that can cause instant death only threatens the creature with death if it is delivered by weapons that deal it lethal damage", which is to say fire or acid for trolls.

    Check out the full by-the-book regeneration rules here.
    Last edited by John_D; 2007-01-21 at 12:30 PM.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2006

    Default Re: Regeneration and...

    Also note: the assasin's Death Attack can be used to paralyze them without any problem. (other than the fact that a troll has a +11 fortitude save and will probably beat the save DC without too much trouble).
    My Webcomic:

    Now in color!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •