Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    DC area
    Gender
    Male

    Default ability enhcancements

    Do enchantment bonuses, like those from circlet of intelligence give bonus skill points or bonus spells? I don't think so, but the question has come up, and I never have gotten a good ruling on this. So what do you think?

  2. - Top - End - #2

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    Bonus skill points, no. Bonus spells, definitely.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    PaladinGuy

    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Arcanix, Aundair

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    bonus spells? yes, but you have to have it on when you ready your spells and when you cast them. Skill points? no.
    "The problem with defending the purity of the English language is that English is about as pure as a cribhouse whore. We don't just borrow words ... English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and rifle their pockets for new vocabulary."

    "The only thing necessary for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing."

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    DC area
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    thanks, last time I asked my old Dm said no. Then again, he let everyone have 2 standard action per turn.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    I never allow "temporary" bonuses to give bonuses like that.
    Circlets of Intellect and Fox Cunning spells rises the DC of your spells, and enhances your Int-based skills, but don't give extra spells.
    Same for Cloaks of Charisma and similar charisma boosting effects: No bonus spells for bards and sorcerers, but all calculations based on Charisma (like save DCs, and skills) are affected. A paladin doesn't get extra Lay-on Hands points, but it does improve his Di
    vine Grace. Paladin and Clerics doesn't gain more Turn Undead uses, but the Turning Rolls and Turning Damage are affected.
    Periapt of Wisdom and Owl's Wisdom spells and similars doesn't give bonus spells for clerics and druids, but rise the save DC for their spells and Will saves for all characters, and the monk's AC bonus and save DCs for Stunning Fist and similar effects.

    If you want bonus spells, it's easier to just get those pearls of power.

    Member of the Hinjo fan club. Go Hinjo!
    "In Soviet Russia, the Darkness attacks you."
    "Rogues not only have a lot more skill points, but sneak attack is so good it hurts..."

  6. - Top - End - #6

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    You know that's not how it's *meant* to go, right? That Cloak of Charisma should get the sorcerer extra spells/day, the cleric more turning attempts, et cetera. Is this a deliberate nerf, or just a misunderstanding?

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Amiria's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Lost in L-Space

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    It was confirmed by the faq that things like a Headband of Intellect give bonus spells.

    Quote Originally Posted by FAQ
    Do ability enhancing items (such as the headband of intellect, cloak of charisma, and periapt of wisdom) grant bonus spells to the appropriate spellcasters? The spells these items are based on would seem to prohibit it, but the only things specifically addressed in the item descriptions are skill points.

    Yes, you can get extra bonus spells if you have an item that increases the ability score that governs your spellcasting. To get the extra bonus spells, you must wear the item while resting to regain spells and all through your initial daily preparations for spellcasting. (Even characters who don’t prepare spells need to meditate a little while at the beginning of the day; see Daily Readying of spells under the Sorcerers and bards section of Chapter 10 in the Player’s Handbook.) If you lose the item, you immediately lose the bonus spell slots the item gave you, starting with any uncast spells you have of the appropriate levels.
    Last edited by Amiria; 2007-03-04 at 05:38 PM.
    The Countess of Mispelling hath returned !__________________________________________________ _________Behold my magnetoresistance !
    Quote Originally Posted by KillingAScarab View Post
    This isn't just any drow. This is a drow who is willing to have a good-aligned flying snake come out of her body so she can then fart rainbows.
    Outer Sphere__________________________________________________ _______________Inkatar !__________________________________________________ _______________Starship

    Spoiler
    Show

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    daggaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    Its also in either the players handbook or the DMG that +int items will give you bonus skill points IF the player has worn the item for the majority of their entire level, at which point upon levelling they get the ekstra points.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    Quote Originally Posted by daggaz View Post
    Its also in either the players handbook or the DMG that +int items will give you bonus skill points IF the player has worn the item for the majority of their entire level, at which point upon levelling they get the ekstra points.
    Find the page then come back and say that. Because its not in any WotC book.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Titan in the Playground
     
    The_Snark's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2006

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    Yeah, I'm pretty sure that is not the case. Bonus spells, yes. Skill points, no; only inherent bonuses increase the number of skill points you get.

    Question I just thought of: What happens to the bonus spells if the magic item is removed or destroyed? Do they remain until the caster next prepares/regains spells, at which point they go away, or do they vanish immediately?
    Avatar by GryffonDurime. Thanks!

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Seattle, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    If your ability score decreases you immediatly lose any spell slots that where granted by the ability, losing prepared spell slots first.

    For example, a 5th level wizard has a 16 int, and thus has 1 bonus 1st, 2nd, and 3rd level spell slot. A spell damages their int and puts it to 14, thus they lose a bonus 3rd level slot. Since they allready cast one of their two 3rd level spells for the day, they lose their only prepared 3rd level spell slot because of the damage. If they still had both slots prepared, they would choose what one they lost.
    "Sometimes, we’re heroes. Sometimes, we shoot other people right in the face for money."

    -Shadowrun 4e, Runner's Companion

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    DwarfFighterGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Novi Sad (Serbia)
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    What happens if they regain their ability score later that day? Do they regain spell slot?

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    DC area
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    I would guess that they would have empty spell slots of the apropriate levels

  14. - Top - End - #14
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Yuki Akuma's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The Land of Angles

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    They have the spell slot again, but if they prepare spells, there isn't a spell in it.
    There's no wrong way to play. - S. John Ross

    Quote Originally Posted by archaeo View Post
    Man, this is just one of those things you see and realize, "I live in a weird and banal future."

  15. - Top - End - #15
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    UK

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    [The bard] can cast any spell he knows without preparing it ahead of time. Every bard spell has a verbal component (singing, reciting, or music). To learn or cast a spell, a bard must have a Charisma score equal to at least 10 + the spell level.
    At certain levels a new spell level is available only if the bard has a high enough score to qualify for a bonus spell at that level. Can a level 13 bard with insufficient base CHA use a buff spell at any time to learn those two fifth-level spells, or must his score be high enough at the time he levels up? How do ability-raising items affect feats that have ability score preresquisites?

  16. - Top - End - #16
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Seattle, USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    Quote Originally Posted by Yuki_Akuma View Post
    They have the spell slot again, but if they prepare spells, there isn't a spell in it.
    A spontaneous caster wouldn't be able to use the spell slot either, you would gain the spell slot back, but you wouldn't be able to use it until you regain your spells through the appropriate method of your class.
    "Sometimes, we’re heroes. Sometimes, we shoot other people right in the face for money."

    -Shadowrun 4e, Runner's Companion

  17. - Top - End - #17
    Ogre in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brazil
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    I stand corrected. Good to know. I'll let my friend that is playing a wizard next game to get him some magic itens as soon as possible in the campaing.

    Member of the Hinjo fan club. Go Hinjo!
    "In Soviet Russia, the Darkness attacks you."
    "Rogues not only have a lot more skill points, but sneak attack is so good it hurts..."

  18. - Top - End - #18
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Renegade Paladin's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: ability enhcancements

    There's no such thing as an enchantment bonus.
    "Courage is the complement of fear. A fearless man cannot be courageous. He is also a fool." -- Robert Heinlein


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •