Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 18 of 18
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    GnomeWizardGuy

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Gender
    Male

    Default Bucklers and bows

    From the SRD:
    __________________________________________________ _________________
    Buckler
    This small metal shield is worn strapped to your forearm. You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it. You can also use your shield arm to wield a weapon (whether you are using an off-hand weapon or using your off hand to help wield a two-handed weapon), but you take a -1 penalty on attack rolls while doing so. This penalty stacks with those that may apply for fighting with your off hand and for fighting with two weapons. In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you don’t get the buckler’s AC bonus for the rest of the round.
    __________________________________________________ _________________

    I can't figure out wether you keep or lose the AC bonus from your buckler when you're using a bow in that round.

    Anyone? thanks
    OUCH! Will the barbarian please stop throwing his d4 at his DM! I will make you need it!

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    daggaz's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    I would say they make a clear point of differentiating between bows and other weapons, here. So the AC penalty applies to other weapons, not bows.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Dwarf in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2006

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    yeah, it only applies to off-hand weapons when wielding with that shield arm. If you have a picky DM then just put it on whichever arm holds the bow, leaving the pulling arm free.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Ryuuk's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    MX
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you don’t get the buckler’s AC bonus for the rest of the round.

    I always thought that that line made it clear that if your arm was involved in the attack you lost the shield bonus to AC for that round. Both your hands are used, either holding the bow are pulling it back. Since they´re busy doing that, then you can´t really use them to defend yourself with the buckler.
    This is just the way I´ve seen it though.
    Will be edited by Ryuuk : Sometime in the future.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    ClericGirl

    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Somewhere that smells lik
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Quote Originally Posted by SRD
    You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it.
    This line here is what makes me think that you get the buckler's AC while using a bow, even if a bow does require you to use your off-hand. I mean, it seems like this sentence is pointing out that bows and crossbows are exceptions to that.


  6. - Top - End - #6
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Look at Bows. See how they are two-handed? That means you need to use two hands to use them. You lose the buckler's AC (which is not the penalty they are talking about in the first line- they are referring to the attack penalty, surprise surprise). It is still worth it to carry a buckler as an archer, even before getting Improved Buckler Defense, since its free AC in the rounds you don't make a shot.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    MindFlayer

    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Michigan
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    i say it would. Holding the bow steady would prevent you from being able to block with it. But that's why the made the feat improved buckler defense. the attack penalties stay but you keep the AC if you use that hand.
    I would be a procrastinator, but I keep putting it off.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    GnomeWizardGuy

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Quote Originally Posted by Neo View Post
    yeah, it only applies to off-hand weapons when wielding with that shield arm. If you have a picky DM then just put it on whichever arm holds the bow, leaving the pulling arm free.
    lol, I think the picky DM would be me in this case. I'm making NPCs and was wondering if there might be alear explanation. :) I had considered most off the arguments made above and I'm gonna go with you losing the AC bonus when using a bow. It seems most logical to me. Unless someone here comes with a clear piece of RAW that convinces me otherwise.

    Thanks for responding everyone.
    OUCH! Will the barbarian please stop throwing his d4 at his DM! I will make you need it!

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Halfling in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Demopolis, AL USA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Quote Originally Posted by Ryuuk View Post
    In any case, if you use a weapon in your off hand, you don’t get the buckler’s AC bonus for the rest of the round.

    I always thought that that line made it clear that if your arm was involved in the attack you lost the shield bonus to AC for that round. Both your hands are used, either holding the bow are pulling it back. Since they´re busy doing that, then you can´t really use them to defend yourself with the buckler.
    This is just the way I´ve seen it though.
    Ding Ding Ding, we have a winner.

    Quote Originally Posted by Little_Rudo View Post
    Originally Posted by SRD
    You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it.

    This line here is what makes me think that you get the buckler's AC while using a bow, even if a bow does require you to use your off-hand. I mean, it seems like this sentence is pointing out that bows and crossbows are exceptions to that.




    Remember that the difference between a bonus and a penalty are distinct in D&D. Not getting a bonus (the armor bonus) is in no way, shape or form related to a penalty. It is just the lack of a bonus.
    Spoiler
    Show
    Current Games:
    PC: Dungeons and Dragons Online
    PS: Chrono Cross
    DS: Phoenix Wright Ace Attorney - Justice for All

    Current Books:
    Not Currently Reading Anything

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    ElfWarriorGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Nashville, TN
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Rules interpretation is so difficult with d20, because the designers often put partially contradictory statements in a single paragraph without much explanation.

    The rule says you can wield the bow without penalty, but then explains about penalties for other weapons. It then jumps to the rules regarding the AC bonus. It's confusing.

    It would be simpler if they put the general rule: You cannot use a weapon with the arm/hand using a shield. You can use a weapon in the same hand/arm which bears a buckler. If you do so, you suffer a -1 penalty to attack rolls. Bows and crossbows are an exception and you do not suffer that penalty to attacks. In any case, if you use your buckler hand to assist in an attack, you lose the AC bonus for the rest of the round.

    I think the key phrase is the "in any case". I think that negates the apparent exception for bows (although I don't think the exception applied to the AC bonus anyway).
    BTW, I'll argue about anything!

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Orc in the Playground
     
    El Jaspero, the Pirate King's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Indianapolis, IN
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Quote Originally Posted by Draak_Grafula View Post
    From the SRD:
    You can use a bow or crossbow without penalty while carrying it.
    Actually the crucial word for me there is "carrying", as opposed to "using". In my mind they're saying "you don't have to take the buckler off to wield one of these ranged weapons", not "you can use a buckler to defend yourself while wielding one of these ranged weapons".

    I'd always applied the -1 to hit only with melee weapons, but having reread the text I clearly got that wrong. Well, sucks to be my players.


    NASCRAG Judge in the Playground

    Spoiler
    Show
    Inner Circle

    pirate-man founder me love thog!

    Sneak. A. Tar.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Considering, "wearing" is all you need to use a shield, your revelation makes no sense. You lose the AC bonus, you don't take a penalty to hit with bows.

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Matthew's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Kanagawa, Japan
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Hmmn. I would have to agree Ryuuk here. Using a Bow or Cross Bow in two hands would result in the loss of its AC Bonus.
    It is a joyful thing indeed to hold intimate converse with a man after one’s own heart, chatting without reserve about things of interest or the fleeting topics of the world; but such, alas, are few and far between.

    – Yoshida Kenko (1283-1350), Tsurezure-Gusa (1340)

  14. - Top - End - #14
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Diego
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    If its magical do you keep the magic bonus? That could be beneficial for wielding a two handed weapon, regardless of the penalty. But with a bow there wouldn't be any drawbacks (teehee).

  15. - Top - End - #15
    Orc in the Playground
     
    BlackDragon

    Join Date
    Feb 2007

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    You lose all the AC, not just the base. Alternate enchantments still work.

  16. - Top - End - #16
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    GnomeWizardGuy

    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Whats odd though is this. You can not actively defend yourself with shields while using that arm for an attack. Thats reasonable. But when you are flatfooted, you do not lose your shield bonus to AC.

    I know I'm being picky here and I won't change anything in my game now i've discovered this inconsistency. But it's still odd when you think about it.
    OUCH! Will the barbarian please stop throwing his d4 at his DM! I will make you need it!

  17. - Top - End - #17
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    BlueKnightGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Near Washington DC
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    I rule that if you are firing a bow with a buckler you do not cash in on the ac bonus. Same with crossbow unless you are firing one handed...in that case you keep your ac.

    Does this make sense to you all?
    “Fortune favors the brave.” - Virgil from the Aeneid

  18. - Top - End - #18
    Troll in the Playground
     
    RedWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Bucklers and bows

    Take improved buckler defense, from CWar. Otherwise, I'd say you lose it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •