Results 1 to 29 of 29
Thread: readying an action
-
2007-04-25, 09:43 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2006
readying an action
for dungeons & dragons third edition
when you ready an action can you also move and attack as a readying action is a standard action ?
cheers
-
2007-04-25, 09:52 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2006
- Location
- Washington, DC
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Strait from the SRD:
READY
The ready action lets you prepare to take an action later, after your turn is over but before your next one has begun. Readying is a standard action. It does not provoke an attack of opportunity (though the action that you ready might do so).
Readying an Action: You can ready a standard action, a move action, or a free action. To do so, specify the action you will take and the conditions under which you will take it. Then, any time before your next action, you may take the readied action in response to that condition. The action occurs just before the action that triggers it. If the triggered action is part of another character’s activities, you interrupt the other character. Assuming he is still capable of doing so, he continues his actions once you complete your readied action. Your initiative result changes. For the rest of the encounter, your initiative result is the count on which you took the readied action, and you act immediately ahead of the character whose action triggered your readied action.
You can take a 5-foot step as part of your readied action, but only if you don’t otherwise move any distance during the round.Last edited by Person_Man; 2007-04-25 at 09:52 AM.
-
2007-04-25, 05:19 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- UK
-
2007-04-25, 06:25 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2005
- Location
- Davie, FL
- Gender
Re: readying an action
You can ready an action to charge (which is an attack that involves moving), and that's about as close as you get to doing both.
What I do every time I see someone complain that their DM is a jerk just because some class/race/book/feat/etc. is not allowed at the gaming table.
-
2007-04-25, 06:41 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2006
Re: readying an action
Partial charge only.
I am a poor man, some say I’m half crazy,
son of the sword and the knife
Lady I pledge you my sword and my honor,
my heart and my pride and my life
--Bella Doña, by Joe Bethancourt
Spoiler
Alas, poor Draknir. By Mephibosheth
Owl-atar by KingGolem
You will be missed, dear 'stache...
-
2007-04-25, 06:47 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- IPR Violation
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Last edited by Lord Lorac Silvanos; 2007-04-25 at 07:19 PM.
-
2007-04-25, 07:17 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2006
Re: readying an action
Ah, good point.
I am a poor man, some say I’m half crazy,
son of the sword and the knife
Lady I pledge you my sword and my honor,
my heart and my pride and my life
--Bella Doña, by Joe Bethancourt
Spoiler
Alas, poor Draknir. By Mephibosheth
Owl-atar by KingGolem
You will be missed, dear 'stache...
-
2007-04-25, 07:54 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2006
- Location
- Seattle, USA
- Gender
Re: readying an action
You could move and attack with a ready action via the spring attack feat, which specifically allows you to move up to your speed during an attack action.
"Sometimes, we’re heroes. Sometimes, we shoot other people right in the face for money."
-Shadowrun 4e, Runner's Companion
-
2007-04-25, 07:56 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2006
Re: readying an action
But not as an attack action. You still have to have movement from somewhere. If you're not using your move action, how are you moving? If you are using your move action, you can't ready the attack.
I am a poor man, some say I’m half crazy,
son of the sword and the knife
Lady I pledge you my sword and my honor,
my heart and my pride and my life
--Bella Doña, by Joe Bethancourt
Spoiler
Alas, poor Draknir. By Mephibosheth
Owl-atar by KingGolem
You will be missed, dear 'stache...
-
2007-04-25, 08:22 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2005
- Location
- St. Louis Park, MN, US
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Just to clarify JackMan's point:
Spring Attack doesn't give you any extra movement, nor does it give you any extra actions. I just lets you rearrange your normal movement.
-
2007-04-25, 09:35 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2006
- Location
- Seattle, USA
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Unless there is an FAQ or Errata about spring attack that i don't know about (it's very possible) I'd contend that spring attack does grant extra movement.
From the SRD
When using the attack action with a melee weapon, you can move both before and after the attack, provided that your total distance moved is not greater than your speed."Sometimes, we’re heroes. Sometimes, we shoot other people right in the face for money."
-Shadowrun 4e, Runner's Companion
-
2007-04-25, 09:42 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Location
- Salem, OR
- Gender
Re: readying an action
But you do have to take a move action to move at all. Just because the text for spring attack doesn't say that you need to take a move action to move doesn't make it less true.
My Characters:
Henning Baer: Forest of Friedland
Avatar by Mr_Saturn
-
2007-04-25, 09:59 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Gender
-
2007-04-26, 12:26 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2006
- Location
- Seattle, USA
- Gender
Re: readying an action
If you require a move action to move then how can you take a charge action?
Spring attack makes no reference to move actions, or the "move" action, it only mentions the attack action, which is a standard action that grants you a single attack. The D&D rules are usually pretty clear as to what type of action is required to use a feat/spell/class ability, if the feat doesn't say it requires a move action in addition to the standard actions it says it does require, it doesn't require it. Heck spring attack isn't even an action, it's a benefit that can be added to a specific action.
It should also be noted that the Mobile Spellcasting feat(the spellcasting counterpart to Spring Attack) from complete adventurer, is very clear that you move and cast as a single standard action. While it offers no proof in and of itself, the fact that in a later book WotC released a feat an extreamly similar feat though much more clearly defined seems to indicate that they ment for spring attack to work that way as well."Sometimes, we’re heroes. Sometimes, we shoot other people right in the face for money."
-Shadowrun 4e, Runner's Companion
-
2007-04-27, 09:06 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2006
- Location
- Kanagawa, Japan
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Veh? You cannot use Spring Attack in this way. You can Ready a Move Action or a Standard Action, but not a Spring Attack. If your Action is to move, no attack, if your Action is to Attack, no move. Spring Attack does not grant extra movement:
SPRING ATTACK [GENERAL]
Prerequisites: Dex 13, Dodge, Mobility, base attack bonus +4.
Benefit: When using the attack action with a melee weapon, you can move both before and after the attack, provided that your total distance moved is not greater than your speed. Moving in this way does not provoke an attack of opportunity from the defender you attack, though it might provoke attacks of opportunity from other creatures, if appropriate. You can’t use this feat if you are wearing heavy armor.
You must move at least 5 feet both before and after you make your attack in order to utilize the benefits of Spring Attack.
Special: A fighter may select Spring Attack as one of his fighter bonus feats.
Mobile Spell casting is worded *very* differently. The appropriate analogue here is Shot on the Run, which is worded the same way and given that both are copy pastes from the 3.0 PHB, it's not too surprising to find them worded in this way.Last edited by Matthew; 2007-04-27 at 09:13 AM.
It is a joyful thing indeed to hold intimate converse with a man after one’s own heart, chatting without reserve about things of interest or the fleeting topics of the world; but such, alas, are few and far between.
– Yoshida Kenko (1283-1350), Tsurezure-Gusa (1340)
-
2007-04-30, 07:08 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Technically, it doesn't say "When combining (or using) an attack action with a move action", it says: "When unsing an attack action...".
I agree that their intention is to say you have to spend a move action in adition, but the wording can easily be read in anoher way.
-
2007-04-30, 07:18 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Location
- Oregon, USA
-
2007-04-30, 09:32 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Gender
Re: readying an action
It says you can move both before and after the attack, not the attack action. Normally you perform an attack during an attack action.
According to the text in Spring attack, you can move both before and after the attack when using an attack action. This might be a matter of opinion... but, IMO, it's ambiguous, as it can imply you get to move during the attack action (both before and after the attack).
-
2007-04-30, 09:53 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Location
- Oregon, USA
Re: readying an action
Hmm...looking over it again, it is fairly ambiguous, the way it's worded. The FAQ doesn't address the basic use of the feat, either.
That being the case, I have to agree with you that as written, Spring Attack lets you move as part of the attack action. Since the attack action is a standard action, it is thus a valid readied action.
-
2007-05-01, 06:44 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2006
- Location
- Kanagawa, Japan
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Actually a strict reading of this Feat implies that it is useless:
"You must move at least 5 feet both before and after you make your attack in order to utilize the benefits of Spring Attack."
Since you cannot ordinarily do this you can never make use of the benefits of Spring Attack, which makes it a chicken and the egg situation.Last edited by Matthew; 2007-05-01 at 07:28 AM.
It is a joyful thing indeed to hold intimate converse with a man after one’s own heart, chatting without reserve about things of interest or the fleeting topics of the world; but such, alas, are few and far between.
– Yoshida Kenko (1283-1350), Tsurezure-Gusa (1340)
-
2007-05-01, 07:18 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Mar 2007
- Gender
Re: readying an action
So, about spring attack. I interpret it as breaking up your move action so that you can partial move in, attack, then remainder move away without the AoO. It's great if there's someone else to keep your target occupied, but kinda pointless otherwise.
With this pretense, I feel that readying a spring attack is not possible. Readying a partial charge is though.
Another question. If you ready an action and do not move, could you take a 5' step with your readied action?"I am bleeding, making me the victor!" - Wimp Lo, 'Kung Pow'
"Nonsense! I would never do such a thing unless you were already having been going to do that!" - Professor Hubert Farnsworth A, 'Futurama'
-
2007-05-01, 07:34 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- UK
Re: readying an action
Spring Attack: Use a MA and SA to move-attack-move.
Partial Charge: No readying, in fact no using unless you're somehow restriced in your action (Slowed, are a zombie - which qualifies you, Funkyodor ;)).
5' step - yes, as long as you take no other movement in the round.
-
2007-05-01, 07:52 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
- A Galaxy Far, Far Away...
Re: readying an action
This isn't about Spring Attack!
If a ranger readies a shot against a spellcaster, and the spellcaster casts a quickened spell followed by a standard action spell, does the ranger get both shots, or just the first, or just the second?Spoiler
-
2007-05-01, 08:01 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- IPR Violation
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Only the first.
-
2007-05-01, 08:03 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- UK
Re: readying an action
What did the ranger state as his or her triggering condition?
"When my target casts a spell" would triiger on the quickened spell, doing damage but not interrupting the spell, and since you've taken your readied action then of course you don't get to take it again when the caster starts a regular spell.
"When my target casts a spell that I can disrupt" would trigger on the second spell, and would have a chance to ruin said spell.
-
2007-05-01, 08:25 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Gender
-
2007-05-01, 08:37 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Apr 2006
- Location
Re: readying an action
The attack would interrupt the quickened spell. Quickened spells don't provoke AoOs, but they can be disrupted by readied attacks.
-
2007-05-01, 08:48 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Nov 2005
- Location
- IPR Violation
- Gender
Re: readying an action
Yes, quickened spells can be both disrupted and countered.
-
2007-05-01, 05:54 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jun 2004
- Location
- UK