Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ElfWarriorGuy

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Norway

    Question Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Hi,

    a question - would you allow a character to wear both magical armor and a magical robe, and gain full benefit for both?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Tyger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    You mean allow in the sense of ignore the rules and allow? Hell no. :)

    Mgaical item slotting is one of the good limiting effects on how effective the character can be. If you are going to allow this, why not allow four rings, two necklaces, two belts, two pairs of boots (one is a sock right!?), etc. etc.? Yes, its an exaggeration, but its the same question.

    Keep in mind, that while most robes are really designed for casters, and most armor for warriors, that's not always the case. And of course there are casters that wear armor, and warriors that benefit from caster specific items anyway.

    Its not so much the base properties of the items either, its the fact that you can add twice as much for half the cost... remembering that item costs increase exponentially as you go from +1 - +10 value... two items of +3 enchantment are worth substantially less than one item of +6.
    Thanks The Neoclassic for my avatar!

    Stark Raving Dad - a blog about life.

    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by theos911 View Post
    Fighter: I can kill a guy in one turn.
    Cleric: I can kill a guy in half a turn.
    Wizard: I can kill a guy before my turn!
    Bard: I can get 12 idiots to go kill guys for me
    Quote Originally Posted by grarrrg View Post
    Oh, and Person-Man's real name is a little something called "SKYNET"

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Jasdoif's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oregon, USA

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    You could certainly wear magic armor and a magic robe at the same time, you just can't benefit from both of their magic properties at the same time. You could benefit from the armor's mundane qualities while the robe is "active", however.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    ElfWarriorGuy

    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Norway

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Thank you for the replies - most helpful
    (was reminded of an old munchkin artifact - gloves of inifinte ring wearing )
    Last edited by swordhawk; 2007-05-10 at 04:12 PM.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by swordhawk View Post
    Hi,

    a question - would you allow a character to wear both magical armor and a magical robe, and gain full benefit for both?
    Sure! There's a feat designed to allow this, even: Additional Magic Item Space. It's epic and it allows exactly what you're talking about.

    For reference there are twelve slots you can place magic items on, listed here: Magic Items on the Body
    Last edited by Tokiko Mima; 2007-05-10 at 04:27 PM.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Citizen Joe's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    It all depends on what the bonuses are. If the robe is providing a deflection bonus, while the armour is simply enhancement, then they do stack. In the case of the Robe of the Archmagi, it provides an armour bonus, which does not stack with the actual armour your wearing.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Jasdoif's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oregon, USA

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Citizen Joe View Post
    It all depends on what the bonuses are. If the robe is providing a deflection bonus, while the armour is simply enhancement, then they do stack. In the case of the Robe of the Archmagi, it provides an armour bonus, which does not stack with the actual armour your wearing.
    A magic robe and magic armor take up the same body slot, that's why you can't have both of them magically active at the same time.

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    DrowGirl

    Join Date
    May 2007

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jasdoif View Post
    You could certainly wear magic armor and a magic robe at the same time, you just can't benefit from both of their magic properties at the same time. You could benefit from the armor's mundane qualities while the robe is "active", however.
    So, you mean that a character can "toggle" between items worn on the same slot? As in, "this round I'll use the magical armor bonus, but next round I'll activate my Robe of Eyes"? That would be like saying "this round I'll use my Robe of Eyes, next round I'll use my Robe of Stars, then I'll use my Robe of Blending - that should work, cause I'm only using my robes one at a time". This is what the slot-system is supposed to avoid...

    I'd say that if you're wearing two items on the same slot, none of them are working.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Jasdoif's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oregon, USA

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Myrkveikja View Post
    So, you mean that a character can "toggle" between items worn on the same slot? As in, "this round I'll use the magical armor bonus, but next round I'll activate my Robe of Eyes"? That would be like saying "this round I'll use my Robe of Eyes, next round I'll use my Robe of Stars, then I'll use my Robe of Blending - that should work, cause I'm only using my robes one at a time". This is what the slot-system is supposed to avoid...

    I'd say that if you're wearing two items on the same slot, none of them are working.
    I can't remember where I saw this right now, but I remember seeing that the first item you put on in the slot is the active one; and you have to remove that one before you can have a different item active in that slot.

    And armor can take quite a while to put on and take off.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    DrowGirl

    Join Date
    May 2007

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jasdoif View Post
    I can't remember where I saw this right now, but I remember seeing that the first item you put on in the slot is the active one; and you have to remove that one before you can have a different item active in that slot.

    And armor can take quite a while to put on and take off.
    Aahhh... you mean that you need to physically CHANGE the item, not just swap mentally... I get it, I get it...

    So... a wizard could wear a elfin mail shirt +3 outside his Robe of Stars, but wouldn't get the +3 magical armor bonus, but he would get the non-magical armor granted from the mail shirt...or, he could wear the armor inside the robe, getting full armor bonus - but then the robe wouldn't be operational at all (and just be a piece of fancy clothing).

  11. - Top - End - #11
    Troll in the Playground
     
    ElfMonkGuy

    Join Date
    Jan 2007

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Jasdoif View Post
    I can't remember where I saw this right now, but I remember seeing that the first item you put on in the slot is the active one; and you have to remove that one before you can have a different item active in that slot.

    And armor can take quite a while to put on and take off.
    ...It won't be long before there's a homebrew feat that allows you to disrobe very quickly.

  12. - Top - End - #12
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Jayabalard's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Orlando, FL
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Myrkveikja View Post
    So, you mean that a character can "toggle" between items worn on the same slot? As in, "this round I'll use the magical armor bonus, but next round I'll activate my Robe of Eyes"? That would be like saying "this round I'll use my Robe of Eyes, next round I'll use my Robe of Stars, then I'll use my Robe of Blending - that should work, cause I'm only using my robes one at a time". This is what the slot-system is supposed to avoid...
    Well, if you can switch clothes really quick (al la FFX2) that would work, right?

  13. - Top - End - #13
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    OldWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Big Apple's shadow

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Indon View Post
    ...It won't be long before there's a homebrew feat that allows you to disrobe very quickly.
    Check the BoEF, it might already be in there.

  14. - Top - End - #14
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    ocato's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Muncie, Indiana
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Wait wait wait.

    1. Are you insulting my Socks of Elvenkind?

    2. You could wear a chain shirt (nonmagical) and a magic robe and get the regular armor bonus and the bonus from the robe?

    3. The book of erotic fantasy probably doesn't have quick armor removal feats, but it might have some sort of 'codpiece removal' skill.
    Being a jerk to people on the internet does not make you cool.

    Avatar by Kalirush

  15. - Top - End - #15
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Jasdoif's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Oregon, USA

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by ocato View Post
    2. You could wear a chain shirt (nonmagical) and a magic robe and get the regular armor bonus and the bonus from the robe?
    Yes, although if the robe grants an armor bonus it won't stack with the chain shirt's. Also, your DM may well feel that wearing a robe over/under armor isn't simply a bad fashion statement and disallow the combo (claiming the two won't both fit at the same time, or something), but that sounds like a stretch if you're wearing light armor under a robe.

  16. - Top - End - #16
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Gender
    Female

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Why hasn't someone designed a verbal component only spell that lets you remove or don armor as a free action for its duration?

    Seems like it would be an easy way to mechanically nullify Arcane Spell Failure, and compared to other spells out there not too difficult. The only downside is you would have unarmored AC if someone tried to interrupt you, but as a free action you could have your armor back on before anyone got a second hit in.

    Would also remove Armor Check Penalties, too. Just remove your armor for a sec, make your skill roll, then put it right back on. Or sneak about without any armor and the moment trouble starts... *BLAM* Full plate.
    Last edited by Tokiko Mima; 2007-05-11 at 12:14 PM.

  17. - Top - End - #17
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Tyger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Re: Question: Combining magical armor and magical robe?

    Quote Originally Posted by Tokiko Mima View Post
    Why hasn't someone designed a verbal component only spell that lets you remove or don armor as a free action for its duration?

    Seems like it would be an easy way to mechanically nullify Arcane Spell Failure, and compared to other spells out there not too difficult. The only downside is you would have unarmored AC if someone tried to interrupt you, but as a free action you could have your armor back on before anyone got a second hit in.
    There's a ring in MIC that does just this. Neato!
    Thanks The Neoclassic for my avatar!

    Stark Raving Dad - a blog about life.

    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by theos911 View Post
    Fighter: I can kill a guy in one turn.
    Cleric: I can kill a guy in half a turn.
    Wizard: I can kill a guy before my turn!
    Bard: I can get 12 idiots to go kill guys for me
    Quote Originally Posted by grarrrg View Post
    Oh, and Person-Man's real name is a little something called "SKYNET"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •