Support the GITP forums on Patreon
Help support GITP's forums (and ongoing server maintenance) via Patreon
Page 14 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4567891011121314
Results 391 to 407 of 407
  1. - Top - End - #391
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Storyteller_Arc View Post
    Hmmm... That's fair enough. Guess it really is up to the DM how it works.

    Still, it's not like that trick is worth it. The investment cost is far, far too high for rather it's returns. Not unless your using 4E homebrew or something... And I don't even know where to find good quality 4e homebrew.
    My current Fighter PC has Net Training(attacks slow), World Serpent's Grasp(all slowed opponents hit go prone), Dragging Flail(all proned opponents slide), and Draconic Arrogance.

    Basically, do a ton of attacks, reposition opponents into burst 1 areas for the party's blasters/controllers, and I get some good damage from Draconic Arrogance. If I took Flail Expertise, I'd get to prone targets again when they slid from Dragging Flail. And get an extra +5 damage under the non-abusive ruling. And my PC has generally been really effective before I've gotten the benefit of +5 damage from Draconic Arrogance.

  2. - Top - End - #392
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2018

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    I still think that proning an already prone enemy, or dazing an already dazed enemy is just silly. +5 damage might not seem like much, sure. But if you're applying it round after round, that extra 5 damage is going to rapidly rack up, especially if you're hitting multiple enemies at once.

    Anyway. Q116

    Master of Fire And Darkness: Your Lolthtouched Racial Trait normally lets you use either Cloud of Darkness or Darkfire as an Encounter power. You can use each power once per encounter.

    Lolth Blessed: Any time you use an Action Point, you regain the use of your Lolthtouched racial ability during the encounter if you've used it already.

    From how I read how these feats. Master of Fire And Darkness upgrades my Lolthtouched Racial Trait to allow me to use both powers once per encounter. Meanwhile, Lolth Blessed allows me to regain my Lolthtouch Racial ability if I have already used it during this encounter... does that mean if I have used Cloud of Darkness and Darkfire. Lolth Blessed allows me to recover both powers?

    Q117

    Redeemed Drow Epic Destiny Level 24 Class Feature. Lift Her Touch: You can expend your Lolthtouched racial power to recharge a previously expended encounter power.

    If I have Master of Fire And Darkness. Does that mean I can expend Cloud of Darkness and Darkfire seperately in order to recharge previously expended encounter powers?

    Q118

    Radiant One lets me do +Int Fire and Radiant damage to targets I have Combat Advantedge against. If I hit an opponent that I have Combat Advantedge against that Radiant Vulnerability 10 and Vulnerability All 2. Radiant One's damage bonus is increased by 12, correct? 10 from the Radiant Damage, and 2 for the Fire Damage?

    And if I'm already using a power/attack that does Fire & Radiant Damage, I only increase my damage by 12. Radiant's One's damage boost is added together before Vulnerability is applied, correct? And if the Attack does say, Cold Damage, then I don't get another +2 damage from the Cold type triggering the Vulnerability All 2, correct?

    Sorry, that's kind of three questions all thrown into one.
    Last edited by Storyteller_Arc; 2019-12-14 at 09:40 AM.

  3. - Top - End - #393
    Troll in the Playground
     
    Yakk's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    A116: Master of Fire And Darkness simply turns those two powers into independent encounter powers. Their use is no longer granted by your Llothtouched racial ability, but rather by Master of Fire And Darkness.

    Your Lolthtouched racial trait normally lets you use either cloud of darkness or darkfire as an encounter power. Now cloud of darkness and darkfire are two separate encounter powers. You can use each power once per encounter.
    This makes Lolth Blessed useless. RAI I'd permit it to either recharge both, or at the very least one.

    Alternatively, maybe Llothtouched and MoFAD let you use them 3 times total per encounter, if we read the "Now" clause as not removing/changing the Llothtouched-can-let-you-use-these-encounter-powers text.

    A117 You no longer have a Llothtouched Racial Power. You have two independent encounter powers granted by Master of Fire and Darkness. It is unclear to me if by RAW you'd expend the (now otherwise useless) Llothtouched Racial Power encounter use to trigger this (!), or you have nothing to expend.

  4. - Top - End - #394
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Beholder

    Join Date
    Aug 2017

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Q119

    I'm thinking of NOT allowing Aid checks for Monster Knowledge. The rules state that some skills may not be able to be Aided, subject to DM discresion. And since Monster Knowledge is "you know it or you don't," and a powerful tool for the characters if they acheive Hard DC, I'm thinking to rule against it. Is that harsh? There doesn't seem to be a RAW, or is there? Thanks.

    -Dave

  5. - Top - End - #395
    Orc in the Playground
     
    OldWizardGuy

    Join Date
    Jul 2015

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    A119: Philosophically I wouldn't go that direction for a couple of reasons*, but from a rules standpoint you've basically called it. DM has discretion over what checks can be aided, and there's nothing in the rules that says otherwise with regards to monster knowledge checks.

    Spoiler: *
    Show
    First, because it makes sense to me that at least one other person could help with a comment that jogs the main person's memory, and second because I think the game plays better when the players have more information. But that's just what's most fun for me.

  6. - Top - End - #396
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Kashyyyk View Post
    Q119

    I'm thinking of NOT allowing Aid checks for Monster Knowledge. The rules state that some skills may not be able to be Aided, subject to DM discresion. And since Monster Knowledge is "you know it or you don't," and a powerful tool for the characters if they acheive Hard DC, I'm thinking to rule against it. Is that harsh? There doesn't seem to be a RAW, or is there? Thanks.

    -Dave
    A119: Aid Another is a standard action. If someone wants to be doing a standard action check in combat to add +2 to someone else's monster knowledge check, more power to them?
    Last edited by MwaO; 2020-05-23 at 03:24 PM.

  7. - Top - End - #397
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Iksilak's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2018

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Now that DDI isn't supported anymore, what's the easiest way to look up official e4 items, monsters, powers and the like?
    "Becoming conscious of racism does not mean you are a racist."
    ― Auliq Ice

  8. - Top - End - #398
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2015

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Iksilak View Post
    Now that DDI isn't supported anymore, what's the easiest way to look up official e4 items, monsters, powers and the like?
    4e Discord with over 1000 people. Good for answering questions.

    https://discord.gg/YXRrvt

  9. - Top - End - #399
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    And also with pinned resources including the portable compendium and the offline character builder with a significantly updated CBLoader and all in one installer package.

  10. - Top - End - #400
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    Iksilak's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2018

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Can you use it to look up monsters?
    "Becoming conscious of racism does not mean you are a racist."
    ― Auliq Ice

  11. - Top - End - #401
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Iksilak View Post
    Can you use it to look up monsters?
    As briefly mentioned above, the resources list can help you get the Portable Compendium. That lets you look up very nearly everything published, so your answer is effectively "Yes". Give it a try! The more, the merrier!
    Avatar by Meltheim: Eveve, dwarven battlemind, 4e Dark Sun

    Current games list

  12. - Top - End - #402
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2018

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    You know, I never did get an answer to Q118

    Q120

    Do Summons that do Elemental damage receive buffs from abilities that increase elemental damage? I.E. Hell Hound does fire damage, would Firey Blood increase it's damage?

    Q121

    Would a Frost Weapon used as an implement be capable of changing the damage dealt by a Summon to cold damage?

    Q122

    Does the Rimetongue Caller PPs lv16 feature of adding a Cold Damage aura to my summons mean said summons gain the Cold keyword?

    Also,

    Quote Originally Posted by MwaO View Post
    4e Discord with over 1000 people. Good for answering questions.

    https://discord.gg/YXRrvt
    Can I have a new link? That one doesn't work anymore
    Last edited by Storyteller_Arc; 2020-07-27 at 01:17 PM.

  13. - Top - End - #403
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jul 2013

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Discord Link: https://discord.gg/n8GFXK

    A118 It should work as you've said, but I can see someone arguing the other way as well. You definitely wouldn't get additional damage from cold for the Vulnerable All. Note that Radiant One's damage is when you deal damage, and it's extra damage- meaning that any additional damage instances, such as from Assassin's Shroud or Firewind Blade, do get the Radiant One damage again, and would ping the vulnerability again.

    A120 Yes, because you are making the attack through the creature (Rules Compendium on summoning).

    A121 Yes. Again, you make the attack through the creature.

    A122 Unclear- expect table variation. I'd say yes, but I could see someone saying that the creature gains the feature rather than the power.

  14. - Top - End - #404
    Bugbear in the Playground
    Join Date
    Jun 2018

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by masteraleph View Post
    Thank you!

    Quote Originally Posted by masteraleph View Post
    Firewind Blade, do get the Radiant One damage again, and would ping the vulnerability again.
    Huh. Is that why the Firewind Blade is considered so strong? Not just because it does extra damage, but its an entire seperate damage trigger?

    Quote Originally Posted by masteraleph View Post
    A120 Yes, because you are making the attack through the creature (Rules Compendium on summoning).

    A121 Yes. Again, you make the attack through the creature.

    A122 Unclear- expect table variation. I'd say yes, but I could see someone saying that the creature gains the feature rather than the power.

  15. - Top - End - #405
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Quote Originally Posted by Storyteller_Arc View Post
    Huh. Is that why the Firewind Blade is considered so strong? Not just because it does extra damage, but its an entire seperate damage trigger?
    Yeah. Heavy blades are popular, the crit effect is good, the daily power is a decent ribbon, but it's only the separate damage that makes it special.
    Avatar by Meltheim: Eveve, dwarven battlemind, 4e Dark Sun

    Current games list

  16. - Top - End - #406
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    ClericGuy

    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Greece
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    Q123

    Should I allow a power that I use and that says "target ally" to target myself instead? In other words, am I an ally of myself for this purpose?
    Post if you wish to ask about Ruins & Raiders. I do not answer to PMs anymore.

  17. - Top - End - #407
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Dimers's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 4e Thread 3

    A 123

    No. Other powers do specifically reference "yourself" as a valid target instead of (or in addition to) allies, so the lack of that language makes the intention clear.

    Going beyond RAW and into opinion, I'd also say that most beneficial abilities should only target other people because that drives home the team-oriented nature of 4e play.
    Avatar by Meltheim: Eveve, dwarven battlemind, 4e Dark Sun

    Current games list

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •