New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more

Thread: Dawnbringer

1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground

Default Dawnbringer

Hello all. I'm new to D&D life, so I'm looking for some help. I just recently acquired Dawnbringer, a Sun blade. I play a Gnome ranger and was wondering if my character is able to use this item.

2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground

Default Re: Dawnbringer

Assuming it's the same as the Sun Blade in the DMG? Sort of. It counts as either a Short Sword or a Bastard Sword. If it's sized for a Medium creature, you as a Small-sized creature would have to take the Short Sword option, and take a -2 penalty to treat it as a one-handed weapon, as per the rules on inappropriately sized weapons. (There's an variant in the DMG (page 27) which would have you treat a Medium Shortsword as a Small Longsword, bypassing the penalty, but it's not the default). If you're evil, you'll suffer a negative level while wielding it. Otherwise, you're golden.

EDIT: Actually, wait. What edition of D&D? My answer assumes 3.5; I think Squiddish' is for 5e.
    Last edited by Grod_The_Giant; 2017-05-15 at 08:00 PM.
    Hill Giant Games
    I make indie gaming books for you!
    Spoiler
    Show

STaRS: A non-narrativeist, generic rules-light system.
    Grod's Guide to Greatness, 2e: A big book of player options for 5e.
    Grod's Grimoire of the Grotesque: An even bigger book of variant and expanded rules for 5e.
    Giants and Graveyards: My collected 3.5 class fixes and more.

Quote Originally Posted by Grod_The_Giant View Post
    Grod's Law: You cannot and should not balance bad mechanics by making them annoying to use

3. - Top - End - #3
    Orc in the Playground

MindFlayer