A Monster for Every Season: Summer 2
You can get A Monster for Every Season: Summer 2 now at Gumroad
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    (Copied from this post in the Q&A thread.)

    Would a Simulacrum of an Awaken Construct-ed creature be intelligent or not?
    Rules source or FAQ would be appreciated on this one thank you.

    Assuming Trompe L'oeil paintings are made with the subject present, can one create a Trompe L'oeil of an Awaken Construct-ed version of something?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    Related question following the same logic; can a Simulacrum be made of an Awakened Animal or Tree?

    Do spells with an Instantaneous duration create a fundamentally new creature or simply alter an existing one?

    As a 3.x example the Awaken Sand spell from the Sandstorm book is Instantaneous and creates a sentient free-willed creature.
    Assuming there is an analogous spell in PF would a Simulacrum be able to be made of a creature created by an Instantaneous spell instead of just altered by one?


    Following the above reasoning... can a Simulacrum be made... of another Simulacrum? (Not that one 'should', simply curious if one 'could'.)
    Last edited by unseenmage; 2017-08-01 at 12:44 AM.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Spamalot in the Playground
     
    Psyren's Avatar

    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    I know it's not really what you want to hear, but these questions seem to stray (at least to me) pretty far into the realm of GM adjudication.

    "Simulacrum of a Simulacrum" to me would result in each successive copy having half HD powers of the preceding copy, until the effective HD became too low to have any abilities at all.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Giant View Post
    But really, the important lesson here is this: Rather than making assumptions that don't fit with the text and then complaining about the text being wrong, why not just choose different assumptions that DO fit with the text?
    Plague Doctor by Crimmy
    Ext. Sig (Handbooks/Creations)

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Banned
     
    GreenSorcererElf

    Join Date
    Jul 2016

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    Yes, you can make a simulacrum of a simulacrum. If an awakened creature casts simulacrum, they would in fact get a simulacrum that would be awakened. It produces, after all, an "exact duplicate" with fewer levels.
    Awakened constructs, however, are (for the most part) immune to simulacrum and thus cannot be cloned in such a manner (sorry, no army of awakened adamantine golems for you.) If they are not immune, then all the other rules for simulacrum apply.
    Could it be cheaper than making a construct from scratch? Possibly. But remember, the construct, once awakened, does not automatically serve you (unless YOU are the awakened construct in question) so it could end up being very very bad to set this up.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    I know it's not really what you want to hear, but these questions seem to stray (at least to me) pretty far into the realm of GM adjudication.
    I realize this is the case and appreciate the assistance regardless.
    You know me, I want to know what the RAW says and what precedents we know of first before bugging a GM about the thing.

    Quote Originally Posted by Psyren View Post
    "Simulacrum of a Simulacrum" to me would result in each successive copy having half HD powers of the preceding copy, until the effective HD became too low to have any abilities at all.
    Agreed. This was certainly not part of the original plan but it was an amusing side effect of following this question down the rabbit hole.



    Quote Originally Posted by Calthropstu View Post
    ...
    Awakened constructs, however, are (for the most part) immune to simulacrum and thus cannot be cloned in such a manner (sorry, no army of awakened adamantine golems for you.) If they are not immune, then all the other rules for simulacrum apply.
    The Simulacrum spell has 'SR: no' and specifies "any creature" so Golems, let alone Constructs Awakened or not, are most definitely not immune.

    Quote Originally Posted by Calthropstu View Post
    Could it be cheaper than making a construct from scratch? Possibly. But remember, the construct, once awakened, does not automatically serve you (unless YOU are the awakened construct in question) so it could end up being very very bad to set this up.
    Simulacrum are also "under your absolute command" at all times so yes one would control their Simulacrum. However, as it would constitute their 'becoming more powerful' the Awaken Construct spell couldn't be applied to an existing Simulacrum.
    Last edited by unseenmage; 2017-08-01 at 10:09 AM.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Banned
     
    GreenSorcererElf

    Join Date
    Jul 2016

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    Yeah, I was mistaken... I thought simulacrum was a self only spell.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    Quote Originally Posted by Calthropstu View Post
    Yeah, I was mistaken... I thought simulacrum was a self only spell.
    Oooh! That explains a LOT.

    Could you have been thinking of Twine Double?

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Ettin in the Playground
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Berlin
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    The problem I see is that the Simulacrum itself is a spell effect, illusion (shadow), to be precise.

    While that means that yes, you can make a duplicate of any creature, it also should mean no, you canīt make a simulacrum of a simulacrum, as you canīt target q quasi real (shadow) illusion of something to duplicate it.

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    unseenmage's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Middle of nowhere USA.
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: PF - Simulacrum of Awakened Construct?

    Quote Originally Posted by Florian View Post
    The problem I see is that the Simulacrum itself is a spell effect, illusion (shadow), to be precise.

    While that means that yes, you can make a duplicate of any creature, it also should mean no, you canīt make a simulacrum of a simulacrum, as you canīt target q quasi real (shadow) illusion of something to duplicate it.
    Luckily the Simulacrum spell lacks a "Target" line.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •