Results 1 to 11 of 11
-
2019-12-07, 04:01 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2019
[3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
Asking for clarification on how these can work.
As a standard action, you can make a single melee attack. If you hit, the target is affected as if struck by your eldritch blast (including any eldritch essence applied to the blast). This damage is in addition to any weapon damage that you deal with your attack, although you need not deal damage with this attack to trigger the eldritch blast effect.Your eldritch blast takes on physical substance, appearing similar to a glaive. As a full-round action, you can make a single melee touch attack as if wielding a reach weapon. If you hit, your target is affected as if struck by your eldritch blast (including any eldritch essence applied to the blast). Unlike hideous blow, you cannot combine your eldritch glaive with damage from a held weapon. Furthermore, until the start of your next turn, you also threaten nearby squares as if wielding a reach weapon, and you can make attacks of opportunity with your eldritch glaive. These are melee touch attacks. If your base attack bonus is +6 or higher, you can (as part of the full-round action) make as many attacks with your eldritch glaive as your base attack bonus allows. For example, a 12th-level warlock could attack twice, once with a base attack bonus of+6, and again with a base attack bonus of +1.
Do you think there would be any balance issues for allowing the RAI interpretation other than the lack of AoOs?
-
2019-12-07, 04:17 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2014
- Location
- California
- Gender
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
Sorry. They're both blast shapes, which means you use them as part of the same action used to invoke eldritch blast. Using eldritch blast provokes an attack of opportunity just like any other SLA. There's a feat that you can take that specifically negates the AoO provoked by hideous blow. There's no wiggle room in the rules here. Try using a reach weapon, that usually helps.
Rhymes with "Protracted."
Handbooks: The Warlockopedia: A Comprehensive Warlock Handbook | The Warmagepedia: Ditto, But For Warmage (WIP) | Tier List (2019 Update)
Spreadsheets: Spellcasting classes | Deities | Useful items
Homebrew: Gestalt Theurge | Fighter and Monk fixes | Warlock stuff
-
2019-12-07, 06:48 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Dec 2004
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
You can use Concentration to cast defensively when using a spell-like ability. The Concentration check is laughably easy to make.
-
2019-12-07, 06:52 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2014
- Location
- California
- Gender
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
Plus, it's not as if there aren't already a million melee touch spells with the same problem.
Rhymes with "Protracted."
Handbooks: The Warlockopedia: A Comprehensive Warlock Handbook | The Warmagepedia: Ditto, But For Warmage (WIP) | Tier List (2019 Update)
Spreadsheets: Spellcasting classes | Deities | Useful items
Homebrew: Gestalt Theurge | Fighter and Monk fixes | Warlock stuff
-
2019-12-07, 07:05 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2019
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
That makes sense. So was my interpretation of the order of events caused by how I read the RAW correct? With HB it modifies EB. EB is already a standard action, so is the "as a standard action" redundant to the point that its removal wouldnt change the invocation or actually a function of the invocation whereby giving you a bonus action that you resolve immediately? The ramification of this is that eldritch glaive wouldn't actually be cast as a full round action.
The structure of the description of Eldritch Glaive seems to support this interpretation as it tells you what the invocation does first: gives your EB physical substance in the appearance of a glaive. It then goes on to tell you that you "can" make a single melee touch attack as a full round action. As written, this would imply the the full round action is mutually exclusive with the formation of the "glaive" and not a touch spell-like ability. If read in order, casting EB is a standard action that forms the glaive and then let's you make melee touch attacks as a full round action. If they aren't mutually exclusive that would imply that making the touch attack is part of the casting and therefore unable to be cast to only take advantage of AoOs.
Edit: RAW the only duration EG ever mentions is for simply being threatening. If it is cast as a whole action, the glaive wouldn't disappear and you wouldn't need to continue casting unless you wanted AoOs.Last edited by Darg; 2019-12-07 at 08:27 PM.
-
2019-12-07, 07:09 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- May 2018
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
When I did my homebrew melee invoker, I made all the invocations of this sort Swift actions, because Swift action spells/spell-like abilities never provoke attacks of opportunity.
I didn't give attacks as part of casting either. The invocation just charged your weapon up with magic that boosted all your attacks with that weapon until the start of your next turn. (Or some of them would only boost the next successful attack, but would still dissipate at the start of your next turn even if you made no successful attacks.)
You could then just make an attack. Or make a full attack. Or make attacks of opportunity. Or initiate a strike maneuver. Or use some other ability that involved making one or more attacks, but which was an action unto itself.
Not to toot my own horn, but I feel it was a simpler and more versatile approach. Plus, there were no weird interactions with Quicken Spell-Like Ability.
-
2019-12-08, 09:24 AM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Feb 2007
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
-
2019-12-08, 02:42 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2014
- Location
- California
- Gender
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
Rhymes with "Protracted."
Handbooks: The Warlockopedia: A Comprehensive Warlock Handbook | The Warmagepedia: Ditto, But For Warmage (WIP) | Tier List (2019 Update)
Spreadsheets: Spellcasting classes | Deities | Useful items
Homebrew: Gestalt Theurge | Fighter and Monk fixes | Warlock stuff
-
2019-12-08, 04:38 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Jan 2013
- Gender
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
By the rules Hideous Blow provokes an attack of opportunity.
However, you are correct that the creator of the invocation said in a Q+A that he did not intend for it to provoke an AOO, but this was never officially printed. It would be VERY reasonable to have Hideous blow not provoke.
Ask your DM.Last edited by Yogibear41; 2019-12-08 at 04:38 PM.
-
2019-12-08, 08:16 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2019
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
There is nothing that says it is though. With a strict reading of the invocation, the modification of the EB is right there in the first sentence: giving substance and a weapon-like shape. Like all other blast shape invocations EB must be cast before the shape takes effect. Unlike any other blast shape, this one does not have a duration of instantaneous. The only duration mentioned within the description directly pertains to the ability to threaten with the glaive. If I want to be strict grammatically thanks to the comma before the "and" in the sentence, it makes the complete statement that comes right after separate from the statement before. This includes the conditional. The full round action is you simply wielding the glaive as it tells you how to wield it. If the invocation lead with "as a full round action" it could be said to work in a similar fashion to HB, but it doesn't. Every other blast shape tells you exactly what it does in the very first sentence.
It disappears afterwards because, again, still a form of EB, still works like EB unless otherwise noted.Last edited by Darg; 2019-12-08 at 08:24 PM.
-
2019-12-08, 08:50 PM (ISO 8601)
- Join Date
- Oct 2019
Re: [3.5] Hideous Blow and Eldritch Glaive
It's worded exactly as a feat would be. Shapes and essences are invocations. Invocations have a cast time, but the shapes and essences are exceptions to that rule. It isn't even a leap to say that HB modifies EB to be a standard action (it's in the description) and not cast as a spell-like ability with a cast time of one standard action. Casting a spell is an action that costs other actions and not inherently an action type by itself. It's not like faqs can't be incorrect and sources based on those faqs aren't made. Heck, in the strictest reading of the shape and the rules for invocations and EB you cast EB modified by HB and you have to wait for the next available standard action to even use it.
Originally Posted by faq
Originally Posted by faq
Last edited by Darg; 2019-12-08 at 09:37 PM.