New OOTS products from CafePress
New OOTS t-shirts, ornaments, mugs, bags, and more
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Frosty's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Questions about AMF

    If I shoot a Scorching ray, and there is an AMF between my target and me, but the target is not in the AMF, what happens to my spell? Does it wink out temporarily as it travels through the AMF and comes out the otherside intact, or just it just get dispelled?
    Last edited by Frosty; 2007-10-25 at 12:13 PM.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Tyger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Re: Questions about AMF

    INteresting question actually...

    The text of the spell indicates that:
    An antimagic field suppresses any spell or magical effect used within, brought into, or cast into the area, but does not dispel it. Time spent within an antimagic field counts against the suppressed spellís duration.
    As the text specifies "suppresses" the effect, I would suggest that it could be interpreted that the ray continues on the other side of the AMF unharmed. That said, line of effect is broken by a AMF, so it could easily be argued to the contrary.

    Line of effect indicates that it is only broken by a solid barrier, and the text of AMF indicates that it is only impervious to most magical effects, not a solid barrier.

    Personally, as a DM, I'd let if re-appear on the other side. But that would be a houserule, as the RAW isn't really clear.
    Thanks The Neoclassic for my avatar!

    Stark Raving Dad - a blog about life.

    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by theos911 View Post
    Fighter: I can kill a guy in one turn.
    Cleric: I can kill a guy in half a turn.
    Wizard: I can kill a guy before my turn!
    Bard: I can get 12 idiots to go kill guys for me
    Quote Originally Posted by grarrrg View Post
    Oh, and Person-Man's real name is a little something called "SKYNET"

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Frosty's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: Questions about AMF

    Actually, according to the Rules Compendium, AMF does NOT block line of effect.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Townopolis's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    N. California
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Questions about AMF

    Your laser is unharmed and fully operational.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Bugbear in the Playground
     
    Tyger's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2007

    Default Re: Questions about AMF

    Quote Originally Posted by Frosty View Post
    Actually, according to the Rules Compendium, AMF does NOT block line of effect.

    Yeah, which is what I was getting at with the fourth part there... the part that says "Line of effect..."

    Should have cleaned up the second part though, you're right.
    Thanks The Neoclassic for my avatar!

    Stark Raving Dad - a blog about life.

    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by theos911 View Post
    Fighter: I can kill a guy in one turn.
    Cleric: I can kill a guy in half a turn.
    Wizard: I can kill a guy before my turn!
    Bard: I can get 12 idiots to go kill guys for me
    Quote Originally Posted by grarrrg View Post
    Oh, and Person-Man's real name is a little something called "SKYNET"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •